The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Supra buying advice! HELP!

Guest JDM

Hey all, im looking at buying a Supra soon and needed advice. Im looking at some NA ones on a manual tranny, but want to boost it later (to around 300 WHP) so just got a couple of questions:

1: What kind of power can the NA motor handle on stock internals?

2:What power can the tranny take with uprated clutch?

3: Finally how much will i be looking at for a decent boost? (including labour as im no mechanic)

Thanks

Why not just buy a TT in the first place ?

Its out of my budget matey, especially the manual ones and im not a fan of autos.

I think to convert an NA to being a turbo is going to end up costing you the same as buying

a tt in the first place.

I think you should try an auto tt before you dismiss them

Im not dismissing them, i know they are quicker than manual cuz they dont lose boost when switching gears but i rather be in control of the transmission, properly! lol.

My budget is around 4k for one and i probably buy a decent NA, im guessing for around 3k mark and just take my time with. If i can find tt motor later on then will just swap it, but right about now im not as rich as you guys! :(

Hey all, im looking at buying a Supra soon and needed advice. Im looking at some NA ones on a manual tranny, but want to boost it later (to around 300 WHP) so just got a couple of questions:

1: What kind of power can the NA motor handle on stock internals?

2:What power can the tranny take with uprated clutch?

3: Finally how much will i be looking at for a decent boost? (including labour as im no mechanic)

Thanks

I agree with the others about trying an auto TT, and that it'll cost more in the long run to use an NA as a stepping-stone. However, in answer to your questions: