The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Coolant leak! Help please

Max5437

Driving along when a load of steam comes out the bay, temps shot up and has left a nice puddle on the floor, I'm no mechanic but the pipes in the bay seem fine, and the coolant appears to be running off the sump (I think)

And ideas or good places to start looking ?

Thanks in advance

Cheers guys much appreciated , unfortunately no such luck, it's a core plug that's gone :(

Is it the one on the rear of the water pump?

Had this go on mine.

I am guessing it is, its a very common failure on the NA. The thermostat housing on the TT is different and doesn't suffer this same failure. It's not a hard job to do, just a bit time consuming. It may take you longer to get the crank pulley bolt off than it will to do the rest of the job if you don't have the tool to lock up the crank.

Cavitation erodes the core plug on the water pump backing plate on N/A's, they should always be changed when the cam belt is off for access. TT's have a different design and don't have the impeller agitation across the core plug.

If it's a block core plug that's gone it is often sensible to pull the engine and change them all, including the ones on the back of the block behind the flywheel. *ALWAYS* renew all core plugs when doing a rebuild.

It's one on the block nearest to the driver side I believe, it's with dave (supraloopey) and he'll be the one doing it, would like to replace them all but just spent the majority of my money on the bodywork due to the fact it seemed mechanically sound, and passed it's mot a week ago today just fine ,oh the irony. I'll be asking him to check the others if it's at all possible?

Thanks for explaining it :) I'll be sure to get the one on the water pump checked if I can