The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Seized callipers

stevie_b

I'm in a bit of a tight spot. I've got a long-ish journey to do tomorrow evening (150 mile round trip) and I was intending to use the supra, but I found out today that 2 of the callipers are very likely sticking. 2 of the wheels are affected, nearside front and offside rear. The front one is easily the worst. Symptoms are excessive heat from wheel after driving, and the wheels not turning when jacked up (rear turns a bit but stops, but I can't budge the front one by hand at all).

Now, I've never done brake work before. Is it straightforward to free up the callipers as a DIY job? Or, is there someone in the Basingstoke area who's got some spare time tomorrow and who could lend a hand?

Is it up in the air with wheels off now? J-specs i presume?

If so I would undo the top 14mm slider bolt and loosen the lower one and check the bolts slide in and out easily ie is it these that have seized or the piston in the caliper itself. If its one or both sliders then it should be easy to loosen them with the correct spanner and penetrating fluid under the rubber bellow section.

Thanks guys for the posts, really appreciate it.

Yes, they're standard J-spec NA brakes. I've dropped the car back down and put it away for the night.

Graham S has a part which could sort the problem out for the front wheel and hence save my bacon (not entirely sure what, as I said I've never done brake work before). I'll look at your posts again when I'm about to fit it.

I'll need to leave the rear as is for the journey unless your suggestions fix it, but that should hopefully be OK if I drive sedately.

Scooter, is there any particular penetrating fluid you'd suggest? I've heard WD40 can eat into rubber.

How do you get to the 14mm slider bolts? i.e. do any other parts (apart from the wheel, obviously) have to come off before I can access them? I've searched for a how-to on here but couldn't find one.