The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Mondeo 2001 TDDi won't start

Ian C

Bloody diesels, I've no idea. OK - I've had the car 2 years, it's always started first go after 3 or so turns, no probs. Today I go to move it and it took a few more turns and sounded a bit struggley. I back it out onto the road so I can mow the lawn it was parked on, I then go to move it back and it just turns over, won't start at all.

I tried a good 3 or 4 times, bit of throttle etc, then gave up. Popped the bonnet, nothing obviously wrong apart from the usual bit of oily crud around the top of the engine. After a rapid google I cracked the nut on the top of the left hand injector and tried turning it over, and diesel did come blopping out, so it's delivering fuel. However, I've no experience of how much it's supposed to deliver - if it should have been a high pressure jet, it wasn't!. It is the old TDDi engine though, and not common rail.

The battery gave out at this point so it's on charge, I haven't checked the other cylinders but if one was working it'd be trying to catch, surely?

I always wait for the glow plug light on the dash to go out before trying to start, and it is still behaving normally. Can the glow plugs be shot but still report back OK? If they were buggered, it'd fit in with the sudden failure, as it's the first proper cold day for ages, and it'll be needing them to start. They've got 110,000 miles on them. Also, er, embarassing this, but where the hell are they on the head? I can't find them :D

-Ian

I've never changed the fuel filter - where is it? Tank or engine end? I can do that now :)

Scott - Not sure if it has EGR. I'm very unfamiliar with diesels and I feel a complete pudding asking these questions. Do you know where I'd find it?

I've never changed the fuel filter - where is it? Tank or engine end? I can do that now :)

Scott - Not sure if it has EGR. I'm very unfamiliar with diesels and I feel a complete pudding asking these questions. Do you know where I'd find it?