The mkiv Supra Owners Club

help with warning lights

iainc

please help.

Whilst driving at about 65-70 i get my engine managment light and warning triangle coming on and staying on also the o/d light starts flashing the lights stay on till i turn engine off. As soon as i start driving again and get 2 those speeds again they come back on and stay on.

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP.

I have the same problem with my o/d light flashing. Just done a fault reading as described, but the Mil exclamation mark doesn't flash! The 'ecu' warning light however does flash constantly. A little help please!!

Yeah, it's the engine warning light that flashes, the FAQ may be a bit ambiguous but you figured it out :) That means no stored codes. I have no experience with the autobox :(

-Ian

Yeah the actual o/d works fine. Clearly changes up and down as you switch the button. Changes up to forth fine, Light stays on as it should when o/d is off, but when its on the light flashes like a pervert in a rain coat! Drivin me nuts!! :banghead:

Speed sensor, dodgy speed convertor/top speed delimiter wiring, light lights up the first time you give it some beans, yes?

Don't even have to look that one up any more ;)

-Ian

Ian.

I got a new THOR converter fitted and am getting the same problem. Only issue is that it is intermittent, so there is no way for me to pin point exactly whether it is going to happen the next time I go over 60-65mph for example, the last time the triangle and engine light lit up was a week ago.

Whats the best way to troubleshoot these types of issues.

Regards

I'll jump in at this point. I've been working this problem for some time. By working, I mean gathering information. The wrenching will start this week with a THOR SLD, I hope!