The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Nissan S14a cannot change gear

jamesmark

My UK spec S14a cannot change gear it only started this. No warnings etc and car ran fine up until the point where I went from 4th to 5th and I could not engage 5th. Now when the engine is running I cannot engage any gear.

When the car is off I can select all gears.

I drove the car for 1 mile in 2nd (as was on my way home from work) and when I depress the clutch nothing happens, the car remains in gear and the revs do not climb.

The clutch pedal feels ok maybe a little light but I don'tknow if that's just my imagination.

Any ideas guys? I am not technical what so ever.

PS posted on sxoc too but I know the wealth of knowledge on here is very good.

Clutch release arm has come loose off of the slave cylinder? slave or master cylinders shot? how are your clutch fluid levels? check for leaks.

Get underneath the car and see where the slave cylinder sits by the side of gearbox (it will be near the bell housing) which will attach onto the clutch release arm, check to see that it hasn't detached from it, and if it hasn't then have someone press the clutch...see if you can see the the slave cylinder moving the clutch arm

Edited by miko_supra (see edit history)

John and i both think its a clutch issue. I text the same last night but i just wanted to write in your thread

Ido not think it is the clutch as the clutch has not been slipping or showing any signs of going wrong. There has been NO signs of anything in the transmission going worng.

My UK spec S14a cannot change gear it only started this. No warnings etc and car ran fine up until the point where I went from 4th to 5th and I could not engage 5th. Now when the engine is running I cannot engage any gear.

When the car is off I can select all gears.

I drove the car for 1 mile in 2nd (as was on my way home from work) and when I depress the clutch nothing happens, the car remains in gear and the revs do not climb.