The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Gone BPU...now have low power

Guest ulysses31

Guest ulysses31

ok, please bare with me here as im no mechanic and its a bit long winded...

I recently installed both decat pipes and a restrictor ring on a 95 TT J-spec before X-mas. I reset the ECU and took car out for a spin, gently at first then with some spirited hard pulls.

I found that the car was pulling strongly, felt strongler then before but that the boost was peaking at 0.9 bar which I think is about standard. I jumped on here, did some reading and found that other people have had similar problems and that it was possible that the RR might need boring out by a few mm. No big deal so I left that for the time being and then installed a walbro fuel pump and a TRL fuel cut defender, couple of hours later, another ECU reset and went for another spin.. RED TRIANGLE OF DOOM after 10-15 mins. Car was driving and sounded fine, so I checked the FCD which was fine, but found a loose wire leading up behind the dash. took dash out and found a broken connection on the Speedo converter/delimiter which I soldered in. retested and presto Warning light is now gone. However the car now feels low on power in the lower gears, I have to have 4k+ revs on to get any sort of power in 1st,2nd and 3rd. Response is better at speed, so when on motorway etc 5th 6th gear seem to responde better, boost is strong when you plant the right foot. Im stumped as to how ive caused this.... Any ideas??

dunno about your 2nd issue realy, maybe a pipe off somewhere or the first turbo is knackered? but ive never seen the first one go. im no mechanic ether :p

. but id leave the restrictor ring as it is and if you want to up the boost use a boost controler. expanding the rr could run you into troubles later :p

Guest ulysses31

I was under the impression that the J-spec didnt need a Boost controller to up the boost to 1.2 bar, I thought that was the whole point of decating and installing the RR...