The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Mkiv Auto gearboxes....

Barry

Now as I'm new to auto boxes I have a question...

If I were to rev the engine in Neutral to say 2500rpm and pull the lever to 'D', what would happen?

A) Would I get a quick standing start?

or

B) Would I get a fecked gearbox?

but dont do it for too long, a few secs max. doing this heats the atf very quickly and because u r not moving (no moving air) the heat just builds up, this boils the fluid and ruins its ability to lubricate. doing it alot means u have to change the fluid more often, how often?, im not too sure (i think its been covered in another thread somewhere).

u also have to stamp on the brake quite hard. ive had the rear wheels start to spin on wet slippy ground at 2000 rpm. its yr front brakes that r holding u still.

Guest Mycroft

2 pedal trickery is a skill worth developing, it only does harm if you do lots of starts one after another where the fluid doesn't get the chance to cool down, practice it everyday slowly building the revs. max out at 2500/3000, the hold should be for no more than 4 secs, don't sit there with the rear wheels spinning, the WHOLE car is locked at the start.

Most people get this wrong spin the rear wheels too much dont load the Torque Convertor and just don't get the most out of their cars, I have taught the correct technique to about 20 people, all said they knew what to do, all in fact got it wrong every time, it is NOT easy.

The slow start off circuit can be switched out, when I get the chance to meet Pete Betts, I will discuss with him the matter of making a commerciallly available 'fix' for this.

Adi, if you have the A340E box then you are just not doing it right, what box have you, I thought the JZA70 had the same as me and the JZA80!