The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Engine Swap

Guest JTT

Hey there. How lively is this forum? Looks kinda small :( But anyway, I'm wanting (wishing,praying,hoping) to do an engine swap. I want to take the 2JZ-GTE and put it into another car. What all would I need from the Supra for everything to work? I'd need the engine/trans of course, but what about rear axle? Drive shaft? The car in question is a front wheel drive. I'd say what it is but you'd probably just laugh ;) I'm no mechanic but I know lots of people that are, and are going to do a lot of the work for me. I'd just like to get an idea of everything I'd need out of the Supra to have everything work together and be fully functional. Thanks.

(Edited by JTT at 9:51 am on Mar. 15, 2002)

Guest Martin F

The ECU and various looms would be essential.

I think you need to think carefully about this project, it would be very, very trying. Particularly as you say you don't have much mechanical experience.

Fitting things is one thing, getting them to run suitably and de-bugging it all is another.

(Edited by Martin F at 2:28 pm on Mar. 15, 2002)

Nah I'm going to make it rear wheel drive, keeping forward would kinda defeat the purpose ;) I know it's a very ambitious project, but I'm a very ambitious person. I know lots of people who are mechanics and have been doing things like this since they like 15, but I don't have direct contact with them anymore. Will have to track them down when I'm ready to begin this little project of mine ;)

The car I'll be putting the engine into is a Probe GT. I'm estimating the whole thing is going to take about 1 or 2 years to complete, as I'll be garaging the car for the whole time, doing a lot of body work to make everything fit, making the car lighter etc. I'm hoping to have it at least down to 2300 pounds. 320bhp stock in a 2300lb. car, it'll move pretty quick. :) Sleeper car.