Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Speedo Not Working ? (Another thread)

  1. #1
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)

    Speedo Not Working ? (Another thread)

    Hey all,

    First of all would like to say i purchased my first supra today Its a 3.0L Twin Turbo Auto Nice all round car just needs a little TLC.


    So, after reading and searching a lot about the forum for speedo related problems im still not much clearer. I should explain mine is j-spec but has been converted to mph and miles (odo). And the problem, the speedo (mph) isnít working (all other gauges work fine) so where to go from here ? Im a wear that mine has a small box behind the dash (speedo) to convert the km to mph which has probly come lose. But anything else it could be ? Possibly a fuse ? Speedo cable ?

    Any info is great

    P.S. - Be kind im new

  2. #2
    Stay low, move fast Club Member Supra Gaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England - West Sussex
    Posts
    3,880
    Feedback
    17 (100%)
    Hi, welcome to the club. The Speedo could be a couple of things, you are going to need to pop the dash off and have a look at connections for the Speedo connector, it is probably loose somewhere, or the unit is caputz. To be honest it is all easily fixed as long as you are happy to get a screwdriver out. If you search for hecklers dash removal thread and for a thread for fitting speedo converter you will be able to see how it all comes apart, and more importantly goes back together!
    Stay low, move fast

    Xbox profile - NinjaRubberDuk

  3. #3
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Supra Gaz View Post
    Hi, welcome to the club. The Speedo could be a couple of things, you are going to need to pop the dash off and have a look at connections for the Speedo connector, it is probably loose somewhere, or the unit is caputz. To be honest it is all easily fixed as long as you are happy to get a screwdriver out. If you search for hecklers dash removal thread and for a thread for fitting speedo converter you will be able to see how it all comes apart, and more importantly goes back together!
    Thanks im glad to be apart of the club Wanted in for years :P

    Right i see, well im going to remove all dash panels tomorrow and look for lose connection/not wired wires and see what i find. No chance of it being a fuse then ?

  4. #4
    Me? Post? Never! Club Member Konrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    4,329
    Feedback
    33 (100%)
    It's rather unlikely. I would put my money on faulty km/h mph converter
    Who am I? By Tima - Metropolis.

  5. #5
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Konrad View Post
    It's rather unlikely. I would put my money on faulty km/h mph converter
    I see....

    Well i removed all the dash today and here are some pics of what i found.

    This is the current converter box (black thing)



    All the wires are connected but this pink one below is from the odo plug and is cut and goes nowhere ????? Is this normal ??



    And here is the back of the speedo....





    As always any help is great !

  6. #6
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Also if it is the converter that needs replacing can someone link me up ?

  7. #7
    Stay low, move fast Club Member Supra Gaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England - West Sussex
    Posts
    3,880
    Feedback
    17 (100%)
    Wiring looks ok, the white connector in the second photo looks like the one that is supposed to be plugged into the back of the odometer. If all the connections are secure and the wire connections are good then I would talk to Jurgen at jm imports for a convertor, whatever he uses seems to work well. I would to be safe, remove the whole dial cluster (taking photos of what goes where), check the soldering on the back is ok, sometimes it gets a bit rusty, clean what needs cleaning and then re-assemble, it could be something minor and I would want to make sure before getting out the wallet.
    Stay low, move fast

    Xbox profile - NinjaRubberDuk

  8. #8
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Supra Gaz View Post
    Wiring looks ok, the white connector in the second photo looks like the one that is supposed to be plugged into the back of the odometer. If all the connections are secure and the wire connections are good then I would talk to Jurgen at jm imports for a convertor, whatever he uses seems to work well. I would to be safe, remove the whole dial cluster (taking photos of what goes where), check the soldering on the back is ok, sometimes it gets a bit rusty, clean what needs cleaning and then re-assemble, it could be something minor and I would want to make sure before getting out the wallet.
    Yes that is correct, what about the pink wire coming from it that has been cut and just left ???

  9. #9
    Stay low, move fast Club Member Supra Gaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England - West Sussex
    Posts
    3,880
    Feedback
    17 (100%)
    The pink wire..... Mmm. No idea mate, i think mine is connected. Put a connection in you can plug in and pull out easily and see what it does.
    Stay low, move fast

    Xbox profile - NinjaRubberDuk

  10. #10
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Supra Gaz View Post
    The pink wire..... Mmm. No idea mate, i think mine is connected. Put a connection in you can plug in and pull out easily and see what it does.


    Tbh it does seem odd that its not connected to anything.....

    I also dont understand the last part above :/

  11. #11
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    From my research i think the pink wire does need to be cut, maybe yours is cut futher back mate Infact if you look in that second pic you can see the pink wire joining another wire


    So.... UPDATE !!!

    I will check all other wiring and joints tomorrow, and providing there all good its more than likely a faulty converter.....

  12. #12
    Stay low, move fast Club Member Supra Gaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    England - West Sussex
    Posts
    3,880
    Feedback
    17 (100%)
    I had a look today, pink wire needs to be cut. Seems your convertor is fubar.
    Stay low, move fast

    Xbox profile - NinjaRubberDuk

  13. #13
    #ADR Club Member Mugello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    876
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Supra Gaz View Post
    I had a look today, pink wire needs to be cut. Seems your convertor is fubar.
    Thanks for checking buddy, im grateful for that !!

    Looks like i best order a new one :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •