The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Buying my first Supra - advice please

Supralad

Now ive never looked at a supra before let alone considering buying one, so im a right noob when it comes to buying. Tomorrow im going to look at an auto 3.0 supra 73k miles.

Apparently has been serviced every 5k miles by toyota and he has all the docs to prove it. Cambelt has just been changed (obviously ill look at the latest service for proof of this). 4 brand new tyres on the standard good condition alloys.

mods are:

HKS exhaust system

HKS intake - i assume this means air filter? :blink:

approx 420 bhp - so this means he must of had the basic uprgrade right?

bodywork is in fantastic condition

I offered £6,500 cash in hand to see what he said and he came back and said you can have it for £6,600.

http://pistonheads.com/sales/1833170.htm

Now i dont know if this is priced too high, if this is a bargin and a good buy, or is there anything that sounds funny about this?! 6.6 is quiet a drop from 7.2 advert price.

Ill scan through the 'what the look at when buying a supra' document when i have a look tomorrow but i just asking if anyone else can add anything or does this seem a fair deal for the money.

HPI the car at the least.

Does he have all its previous mot's, the mileage for a UK car is very low so worth checking but could very well be correct.

How much mot is on the car now ?

The only bad thing i see on the ad is the hks induction kit because the filters are rubbish. it doesnt say what the big intercooler is which is worth finding out.

Edited by Dnk (see edit history)

£6.5k ish sounds about right.

£7.2k was probably overpriced.

btw. is there a dyno sheet with 420hp on it? Don't get too carried away with that figure if not - for a basic BPU, it would be more likely around the 400 or maybe even down towards the 380 mark.

Thanks for the replys.

Well apparently he has a full service history, obviously need to check this out.