Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: How to wire in a standalone ECU (Ecumasters EMU BLACK)

  1. #1
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0

    How to wire in a standalone ECU (Ecumasters EMU BLACK)

    Hi everyone. Earlier this year I started looking into ECUs for my VVTi TT6 as I was going single turbo. It didn't take me long to realise that me being VVTi meant that a nice plug and play setup wasn't really an option as I couldn't find anyone that sells ecus with a pnp adapter for VVTi. Its a 5 plug instead of the non-vvti 3 plug. Then after getting a quote for supply and fitting a Syvecs that was out of my preferred budget (quoted 3K+), I decided to do things the hard way and wire in a Ecumasters EMU BLACK instead. I'd been following this ecu for a while and was impressed at what it offered with such a low price tag, and after speaking to someone who had done this themselves and said it wasn't THAT hard (even if they did have a masters in electrical engineering lol), I pulled the trigger on it. For around a grand I got the ECU, a pre-terminated wiring loom and the stock ecu header connector. The reason I got the stock ecu connector is so that I could basically just make my own pnp adapter that plugs in place of the stock ecu, as I had literally no idea how to go about modifying a stock loom! The most complex electrical thing I'd done before this is wiring in gauges etc!

    So anyway, I ordered the stuff and then this turned up. (I also ordered a FPR so ignore that).


    In the box there is a nicely laminated card that tells you what each of the ecu pins needs to be connected to. Quite quite few of them are optional (wideband AFR controller, touchscreen displays, optional switches etc), so its not quite as daunting as it looks.

    Luckily there are a couple of stock 'pinout' charts on the internet that are totally free to view. IMO the best is wilbo666 which this would have been impossible without. On there it labels the stock connectors and then explains what each pin is for. Then it was down to me to pair them up with the new ecu pins. Most of them are really obvious, so that part was easy really, just a bit (very) time consuming. Some are a bit more confusing but I got there in the end.



    Before I even thought about wiring a single thing anywhere, I made a pinout chart that said which pins needed to be paired up to make wiring as easy as possible. This is actually my latest revision, its all working if anyone wants to use it.


    Once I had it all figured out I prepared to start soldering, something I hadn't done since school. call it 20 years lol. Now this is where the pre-terminated wiring starts to pay off. All the different wires are colour coded and labelled with what they are for. All I had to do was find the right wire and then check where it needs to be soldered to. I could plug it all into the ecu connectors later.


    In a few sittings I managed to get everything soldered correctly. there were a couple of mistakes as the stock pin numbering is a little confusing, but I managed to get it done, and this was the fruit of my labour.


    Then I connected everything to the new ecu plugs and basically had my pnp adapter made.


    This ECU has an onboard 4bar MAP (manifold absolute pressure) sensor which it uses to calculate the fuelling, and it also needs an IAT (intake air temperature) sensor to make adjustments based on air temp, so I had to get a boss and sensor welded on the intercooler pipe before the throttle body for the IAT, and also ran a hose from the intake manifold to the ecu which is in my passenger footwell. (It will be moved behind my glovebox once im happy I don't need to fiddle with it anymore). I ran the wire and hose to the right side of the bay, though into the wheel arch, and then through into the corner of the passenger footwell via a yellow rubber bung down there already. Not hard to do. Then the ecu had everything I needed to run, and after loading a basemap from the Ecumasters site, checking everything was assigned correctly etc etc etc it actually started first time!

    The supra comes with narrowband knock sensors as standard and its wise to upgrade those, so being tight as I am I researched which sensors id need, found out the commonly used shielded cable used for wideband knock sensors, and made my own rather than buying the kits. 2 of them cost me about 55 which is not bad going at all compared to buying them pre-made. fitting them wasn't so much fun though, and I had to take off the intake side of the engine right down to the block. Maybe there's an easier way, but I didn't know it. I wont lie, it was a ballache. But now that those are wired in I have decent knock detection. Mine isn't fully calibrated yet and the weather has got in the way, but the sensors are working and can see 'noise'.



    I also wanted to use another one of the ecus many features, and bought a clutch switch so I could use 'flatshift'. What this does, or rather what it will do (setup but untested) will make the ecu retard ignition etc when I press the clutch in without letting off the throttle. This means I can keep it pinned, clutch in, the ecu retards ignition etc to hold back the rpm but keep boost built, and then I can let out the clutch and it will carry on, all without letting off the accelerator. That does all sound quite hard on my stock engine though, so I think I'll set it up so I can have some flamey gear changes when I feel like going full chav. The clutch switch in the pic screws right into the stock location.


    So that's kind of where I am to date. Running a single turbo just on wastegate spring pressure at the moment, but its not fully mapped, so no full throttle pulls yet, but ive done some 3/4 throttle stuff and she's raring to go! hopefully I can get her mapped up, fit my 3 port *edit* boost controller (walk in the park after all this) and then eventually run 1.6bar on my Borg warner S362SXE, making 650bhp-ish with any luck.

    I've not made this to brag about what I've achieved, but rather to point other people in the right direction if they fancied giving it a go. I couldn't find any information on this and basically had to PM and hassle anyone who would listen lol. I didn't do this for fun (good thing too), I done it because paying someone else to do it just wasn't financially viable. But in the end, I am glad that I gave it a go. So far so good. Amazingly it appears to work, even the stock DBW.

    I hope this helps someone.

    Cheers
    Last edited by D1andonlyantman; 02-12-19 at 20:07.

  2. #2
    The Non-PC Club Member Frank Bullitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    5,062
    Feedback
    13 (100%)
    Great thread, needs to be moved to technical.

    Can I ask that you don't upload your images to the forum using PhotoFukit, upload them to the forum. As a direct result of that company's greed many forums and how to threads were ruined, left in tatters and lots of hard work lost.

  3. #3
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    oh ok, I didn't know I could do that on here. i'll have a look and see if I can change it

  4. #4
    The Non-PC Club Member Frank Bullitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    5,062
    Feedback
    13 (100%)
    If you are talking about uploading photos to the forum you can use this icon Screen Shot 2019-12-01 at 18.40.25.png or this thread - http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/showthr...-a-post-thread

    As for moving it to technical a mod can do that

    Is this the first time you have attempted something this in-depth?

  5. #5
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    I meant uploading the pics to the site in my experience forums generally prefer them to be hosted elsewhere, but I know what you mean about photobucket!

    Yep, first time ive attempted any real write-up. I spent a long time searching for any sort of info when I decided to go this route, and there was sod all out there. I genuinely did just have to ask people questions until they got annoyed with me! it wasn't in vain though and I happily share what I've learned.
    Last edited by D1andonlyantman; 01-12-19 at 23:51.

  6. #6
    I'm addicted now! Club Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    England - Bedfordshire
    Posts
    671
    Feedback
    2 (100%)
    1994 Stock TT Supra & N/A 5 soon to be NA-T 6 speed

  7. #7
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    brand new, released like 2 weeks ago! LOL. would have saved me a lot of effort, but also will cost circa 300, so im not too annoyed. Mine has cost me 100 or so

  8. #8
    Nice Celica Bro Club Member Mike2JZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    2,221
    Feedback
    12 (100%)
    Good write up, glad to see your efforts are paying off.

    Generally running boost control through ECU gives a more consistent result day to day then an external controller which constantly needs attention based on environmental changes. Any reason why you are going to use external controller?

  9. #9
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike2JZ View Post
    Good write up, glad to see your efforts are paying off.

    Generally running boost control through ECU gives a more consistent result day to day then an external controller which constantly needs attention based on environmental changes. Any reason why you are going to use external controller?
    I'm not, I've got a mac 3 port that will be ecu controlled I prefer to leave it all ECU controlled for the reasons you said, plus the added safety features

  10. #10
    Nice Celica Bro Club Member Mike2JZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    2,221
    Feedback
    12 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by D1andonlyantman View Post
    I'm not, I've got a mac 3 port that will be ecu controlled I prefer to leave it all ECU controlled for the reasons you said, plus the added safety features
    Must of misred, had it in my mind you were doing external controller. Cool, well then you are ready to roll. Best of luck on the next steps.

  11. #11
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike2JZ View Post
    Must of misred, had it in my mind you were doing external controller. Cool, well then you are ready to roll. Best of luck on the next steps.
    Tbf what I'd written did make it sound like i meant external. Edited

    Thanks, hopefully I'm over the worst.

  12. #12
    BPU happy Events Organiser Shane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England - Northamptonshire
    Posts
    4,450
    Feedback
    39 (100%)
    Nice write up and thanks for taking the time.

    ECUmaster products seem to be of good quality and offer loads for the price. Used 2 of their DET3 devices now and have been very pleased so far. Good to see someone taking a different path to the norm. Looking forward to updates.
    Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people.
    Satin black BPU. 12.83 1/4 @ Santa Pod Saturday night special May 2015
    N/A auto, Red..Sold
    N/A Auto Silver..Sold

    Daily commute BMW E53 X5 M57 power
    Nissan Navara D22 twin cab PU,Mercedes W210 E300TD, W202 250TD powered by veggie oil,
    Vauxhall Tigra with Isuzu diesel engine conversion. Powered by veg oil

  13. #13
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Shane View Post
    Nice write up and thanks for taking the time.

    ECUmaster products seem to be of good quality and offer loads for the price. Used 2 of their DET3 devices now and have been very pleased so far. Good to see someone taking a different path to the norm. Looking forward to updates.
    Yeah, I'm happy so far. The software is really easy to follow too. I've changed a lot and the car is running pretty good. I just need to calibrate the knock sensors properly and then can start working on the map. It's really rich at the moment. Rich is safe as I'm sure you know. Just waiting on dry roads now really

  14. #14
    I can post! Club Member Sooty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    England - Avon
    Posts
    87
    Feedback
    0
    Great work on getting it all wired up and running!

    If you are using Bosch knock sensors - I think (from memory) the ECUmaster 2JZ base map has these setup correctly. I validated the logged outputs of mine using some knock detecting headphones I made.

    Running rich is safer than lean (certainly under load and WOT) but within reason. Running too rich can lead to bore wash (oil is washed from the cylinders - pistons/bores wear quickly) but also your oil may quickly become saturated with fuel reducing its lubricating properties significantly. When I did mine I checked my oil regularly whilst working on the map at the start and even ended up replacing it after only a few 10's of miles and again a few hundred miles later. If you are mapping it yourself and on the road I would recommend keeping an eye on this.

  15. #15
    Work... what work? Club Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    England - Hertfordshire
    Posts
    193
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sooty View Post
    Great work on getting it all wired up and running!

    If you are using Bosch knock sensors - I think (from memory) the ECUmaster 2JZ base map has these setup correctly. I validated the logged outputs of mine using some knock detecting headphones I made.

    Running rich is safer than lean (certainly under load and WOT) but within reason. Running too rich can lead to bore wash (oil is washed from the cylinders - pistons/bores wear quickly) but also your oil may quickly become saturated with fuel reducing its lubricating properties significantly. When I did mine I checked my oil regularly whilst working on the map at the start and even ended up replacing it after only a few 10's of miles and again a few hundred miles later. If you are mapping it yourself and on the road I would recommend keeping an eye on this.
    Heeey, you're one of the people I hassled!! Haha. Cheers for all the help.
    Thanks for the heads up, I'll try the basemap knock settings then. It will probably be a good starting point if nothing else.
    Yeah, I know about borewash etc. The low load cells are ok. Rich for cruise (11-13) but not swimming. Once the boost comes in it quickly shoots to <10. I've made some det cans too actually. Never used them though. Where did you attach yours to the block? Are they essential or can I trust the knock sensors?
    Last edited by D1andonlyantman; 02-12-19 at 20:04.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •