Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Auto Supra standalone query?

  1. #1
    I can post! Club Member Shaleskin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    England - Hampshire
    Posts
    78
    Feedback
    0

    Auto Supra standalone query?

    Evening all!

    I've currently got an emanage ultimate as a piggyback on my car and it's causing me grief that I just want rid of it. I've seen there's some ECU's which can be used for controlling the auto box which seem to be 2k+, little steep for me unfortunately. Is there a way to use a standalone ecu like the ECU master black with the auto ecu still in place to control the autobox, effectively just removing the engines standard ECU?

    Is this possible or has anyone done something similar?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    What search button? Club Member sidewaysdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    England - Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    1,982
    Feedback
    2 (100%)
    I believe the aem v2 stand-alone can control the auto box.
    i love my toys

  3. #3
    Do Luck owning Club Member Swampy442's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England - Lincolnshire
    Posts
    14,535
    Feedback
    51 (100%)
    What you're describing is piggybacking, an ECU to control some engine functions but leaving the rest in place. Never heard of ECU master, but I do know you get what you pay for. Can get a Link plug in for less than 1500 quid, a great spec ECU for the money.
    I would gladly pay you 10 to never log onto this forum again, and I am serious. Scott M

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Wilson View Post
    I did terrible things to girls I had only just met, and they loved it.

  4. #4
    vegetable sup Club Member mellonman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    England - Kent
    Posts
    7,672
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    From what I have seen the link plug in does not support the auto box.said it does in title but reading spec didn't might have been a typo though.

    OP
    I have heard the aem v2 destroys boxes as it does have a soft gear change capabilities this was some time ago they may have updated the software best to check on the aem forum.
    I hear alot of problems getting the autobox to run right with the standalones also best would be to go with one that's been fitted and proven many times so the issues in mapping can be ironed out. But I'm a single auto running a piggy it's easy just to let the piggy control the engine and stock control.the box will save you a alot of cash and grief

    - - - Updated - - -

    From what I have seen the link plug in does not support the auto box.said it does in title but reading spec didn't might have been a typo though.

    OP
    I have heard the aem v2 destroys boxes as it does have a soft gear change capabilities this was some time ago they may have updated the software best to check on the aem forum.
    I hear alot of problems getting the autobox to run right with the standalones also best would be to go with one that's been fitted and proven many times so the issues in mapping can be ironed out. But I'm a single auto running a piggy it's easy just to let the piggy control the engine and stock control.the box will save you a alot of cash and grief
    never under estimate stupid people in large numbers

    sorry i know i cant spell im distexic

    Hi stall is that some sort of chair ?

  5. #5
    I can post! Club Member Shaleskin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    England - Hampshire
    Posts
    78
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sidewaysdan View Post
    I believe the aem v2 stand-alone can control the auto box.
    I've heard this to be the case but not sure if it still suffers with the way it changes gear?

    Quote Originally Posted by Swampy442 View Post
    What you're describing is piggybacking, an ECU to control some engine functions but leaving the rest in place. Never heard of ECU master, but I do know you get what you pay for. Can get a Link plug in for less than 1500 quid, a great spec ECU for the money.
    Just had a look and seen the Link G4+ on Garage whifbitz site for a price I could do if it would work with the autobox. Anyone using this on their auto's?

    Quote Originally Posted by mellonman View Post
    From what I have seen the link plug in does not support the auto box.said it does in title but reading spec didn't might have been a typo though.

    OP
    I have heard the aem v2 destroys boxes as it does have a soft gear change capabilities this was some time ago they may have updated the software best to check on the aem forum.
    I hear alot of problems getting the autobox to run right with the standalones also best would be to go with one that's been fitted and proven many times so the issues in mapping can be ironed out. But I'm a single auto running a piggy it's easy just to let the piggy control the engine and stock control.the box will save you a alot of cash and grief

    [
    If you don't mind me asking, what piggy are you using and do you have hot start or other issues?

    Thanks guys.

  6. #6
    I'm part of the furniture Club Member Paul Whiffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Wales - Gwent
    Posts
    16,350
    Feedback
    241 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaleskin View Post
    Evening all!

    I've currently got an emanage ultimate as a piggyback on my car and it's causing me grief that I just want rid of it. I've seen there's some ECU's which can be used for controlling the auto box which seem to be 2k+, little steep for me unfortunately. Is there a way to use a standalone ecu like the ECU master black with the auto ecu still in place to control the autobox, effectively just removing the engines standard ECU?

    Is this possible or has anyone done something similar?

    Cheers
    We normally fit a Link G4 Storm as a piggy back leaving the stock ecu controlling the gearbox, so its effectively stand alone apart from the gearbox control. We can do the Ecumaster Black like this now, we've just started fitting them. But they do need hardwiring in so its time consuming to fit, about 3k by the time you buy the ecu, sensors, labour to fit and map.
    The UK's Premier Supra Specialist with 18 years of Supra tuning. Servicing,Tuning,Fast Road/Track Day/Race Car Build/Prep.We hold the largest stock of Supra parts in the UK with our own range of performance parts.
    2009 Time Attack Club Class RWD Champions - 2010 Time Attack Club Pro RWD Runners Up, builders of the fastest Supra's in the UK
    www.garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    sales@garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    Special Offer Section - New Products Section - Garage Whifbitz Youtube Channel - Garage Whifbitz Facebook Fan Page - Follow Us on Twitter

  7. #7
    vegetable sup Club Member mellonman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    England - Kent
    Posts
    7,672
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaleskin View Post
    I've heard this to be the case but not sure if it still suffers with the way it changes gear?



    Just had a look and seen the Link G4+ on Garage whifbitz site for a price I could do if it would work with the autobox. Anyone using this on their auto's?



    If you don't mind me asking, what piggy are you using and do you have hot start or other issues?

    Thanks guys.
    I have a fic 8 which is a simple piggy back the only issue I have is if the car is left for half hour to a hour and had time to cool after a run upto temp it sometimes coughs and splutters on the first start attempt and then start straight up next time. I could correct this by adjusting my map but its not that much of a problem.
    never under estimate stupid people in large numbers

    sorry i know i cant spell im distexic

    Hi stall is that some sort of chair ?

  8. #8
    vegetable sup Club Member mellonman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    England - Kent
    Posts
    7,672
    Feedback
    11 (100%)
    what problems are you having with the ultimate ? is there a forum for the ecu ? I know that my piggy had a mapping problem that 3 well know mappers did not fix but took me a couple of hours research on the aem forum to find the issue cause and resolve it with a firmware upgrade for fuel strategy.
    never under estimate stupid people in large numbers

    sorry i know i cant spell im distexic

    Hi stall is that some sort of chair ?

  9. #9
    I can post! Club Member Shaleskin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    England - Hampshire
    Posts
    78
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Whiffin View Post
    We normally fit a Link G4 Storm as a piggy back leaving the stock ecu controlling the gearbox, so its effectively stand alone apart from the gearbox control. We can do the Ecumaster Black like this now, we've just started fitting them. But they do need hardwiring in so its time consuming to fit, about 3k by the time you buy the ecu, sensors, labour to fit and map.
    If you don't mind me asking, with the link G4 setup you do, is it as simple as plugging the ecu in and then a few wires need to be relocated a bit like how the emanage ultimate is setup or is it a little more involved? I'm desperate to get away from the emanage now. I'm comfortable doing the wiring if needed but just wanting an idea of what needs to be done with it.


    Quote Originally Posted by mellonman View Post
    what problems are you having with the ultimate ? is there a forum for the ecu ? I know that my piggy had a mapping problem that 3 well know mappers did not fix but took me a couple of hours research on the aem forum to find the issue cause and resolve it with a firmware upgrade for fuel strategy.
    I've been doing research for so long now on it i'd rather have something a little solid. One issue is the hot start isn't consistent even if I apply the trick that Ian_C did years ago to create a column in the airflow table to read 500rpms and lower, to add fuel to compensate. Without changing anything some days it's fine, others it just keeps cranking.

    Other strange one is from cold, you start to pootle off and the AFR's start a little rich which is fine, then starts going leaner and leaner until it wants to stall and is >19 afr. Once it's warmed up a little and it runs fine. I'd like to go with bigger injectors than my current 650cc and with the emu is being I'd like to work with something with more options and a more reliable unit. /rant over haha

  10. #10
    I'm part of the furniture Club Member Paul Whiffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Wales - Gwent
    Posts
    16,350
    Feedback
    241 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaleskin View Post
    If you don't mind me asking, with the link G4 setup you do, is it as simple as plugging the ecu in and then a few wires need to be relocated a bit like how the emanage ultimate is setup or is it a little more involved? I'm desperate to get away from the emanage now. I'm comfortable doing the wiring if needed but just wanting an idea of what needs to be done with it.
    No, its much more involved than that, for an extra cost we can supply a wiring diagram with it though or even better a pre terminated wiring loom which you would need to then wire into the ecu loom.
    The UK's Premier Supra Specialist with 18 years of Supra tuning. Servicing,Tuning,Fast Road/Track Day/Race Car Build/Prep.We hold the largest stock of Supra parts in the UK with our own range of performance parts.
    2009 Time Attack Club Class RWD Champions - 2010 Time Attack Club Pro RWD Runners Up, builders of the fastest Supra's in the UK
    www.garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    sales@garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    Special Offer Section - New Products Section - Garage Whifbitz Youtube Channel - Garage Whifbitz Facebook Fan Page - Follow Us on Twitter

  11. #11
    Do Luck owning Club Member Swampy442's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England - Lincolnshire
    Posts
    14,535
    Feedback
    51 (100%)
    You can get a Link plug in, SupraLink, thats what I'm using
    I would gladly pay you 10 to never log onto this forum again, and I am serious. Scott M

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Wilson View Post
    I did terrible things to girls I had only just met, and they loved it.

  12. #12
    I'm part of the furniture Club Member Paul Whiffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Wales - Gwent
    Posts
    16,350
    Feedback
    241 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Swampy442 View Post
    You can get a Link plug in, SupraLink, thats what I'm using
    Its an auto, G4+ plug in for manual only, Link ecu cant control autos.
    The UK's Premier Supra Specialist with 18 years of Supra tuning. Servicing,Tuning,Fast Road/Track Day/Race Car Build/Prep.We hold the largest stock of Supra parts in the UK with our own range of performance parts.
    2009 Time Attack Club Class RWD Champions - 2010 Time Attack Club Pro RWD Runners Up, builders of the fastest Supra's in the UK
    www.garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    sales@garagewhifbitz.co.uk
    Special Offer Section - New Products Section - Garage Whifbitz Youtube Channel - Garage Whifbitz Facebook Fan Page - Follow Us on Twitter

  13. #13
    Work... what work? Club Member sebas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    238
    Feedback
    1 (100%)
    for ultimate auto gearbox control I will say go with standalone g.box control unit like HTG GCU
    Bartek (founder of the HTG) is a great guy with huge knowledge. check his website and fb fan page for more info
    http://htg-tuning.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/HTGtuning/
    Last edited by sebas; 01-10-19 at 18:34.
    Sebastian

  14. #14
    '96 BPU TT Club Member Mk4Gaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    England - Essex
    Posts
    3,124
    Feedback
    14 (100%)
    If you can source a hks fcon gold wiring harness, another option is the link g4+ kurofune, which becomes plug and play on an auto, leaving the oem ecu in place to take care of the transmission changes.

    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    I can post! Club Member Shaleskin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    England - Hampshire
    Posts
    78
    Feedback
    0
    Thank you all for your suggestions. Given me a few idea's of some routes I can take

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •