Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Big 3 Upgrade: Replace factory wires?

  1. #1
    I can post! Club Member .killsec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    England - Suffolk
    Posts
    77
    Feedback
    0

    Big 3 Upgrade: Replace factory wires?

    Hey guys,

    I'm planning on doing the big 3 upgrade soon and looked everywhere for a guide to help me along but nothing specific for a Supra. I did see a few people on other car forums not specific to mkivs stating to absolutely not replace factory wiring but instead to add to it and I'm wondering why that is. I'd like to tidy up the wire loom in the process so the goal is not to add more in to the mix. Additionally I installed a 200amp alternator so I'd like to get the full potential out of it

    The other guides I've read gave enough info to where I feel confident in my ability to take it on, but I just want some clarity on what possible reason if any at all there would be in not replacing stock wiring. Seems odd to me.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Do Luck owning Club Member Swampy442's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    England - Lincolnshire
    Posts
    14,405
    Feedback
    51 (100%)
    Whats a big 3 upgrade?
    I would gladly pay you 10 to never log onto this forum again, and I am serious. Scott M

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Wilson View Post
    I did terrible things to girls I had only just met, and they loved it.

  3. #3
    The Non-PC Club Member Frank Bullitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    (Top Secret)
    Posts
    4,774
    Feedback
    12 (100%)
    Alternator to battery positive connection, battery negative to chassis connection & engine ground to chassis connection. Usually done when you are running a big sound system using 0 AWG cable.

  4. #4
    Metal Wide Arch 13J Club Member Noz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    England - Devon
    Posts
    7,391
    Feedback
    101 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Swampy442 View Post
    Whats a big 3 upgrade?
    https://jlaudio.zendesk.com/hc/en-us...Wiring-Upgrade

    I had to google it as well

  5. #5
    I can post! Club Member .killsec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    England - Suffolk
    Posts
    77
    Feedback
    0
    Haha sorry, thought the name was more commonly known. My bad. So, does anyone see any reason why replacing the factory cables with upgraded ones would be a bad idea?

  6. #6
    I'm addicted now! Club Member Harrypm82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    England - Greater Manchester
    Posts
    991
    Feedback
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by .killsec View Post
    Haha sorry, thought the name was more commonly known. My bad. So, does anyone see any reason why replacing the factory cables with upgraded ones would be a bad idea?
    Unless you're gonna run a massive sound system with a big output alternator and about 3 batteries, there is no point.

  7. #7
    Money Laundering Club Member johnny g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    England - Merseyside
    Posts
    12,929
    Feedback
    20 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrypm82 View Post
    Unless you're gonna run a massive sound system with a big output alternator and about 3 batteries, there is no point.
    Agreed, no need to do it unless you're running a higher output alternator. Get a good battery, and maybe a 0.5 Farad capacitor in the sub-amp wiring line. Job done.
    Johnny - Twitter - Blog - Web Design
    2017 Nissan GT-R, Recaro Edition in Daytona Blue. Litchfield Stage 4.5, 755bhp, 641lb/ft - Alcon Superkit - Magic Air Freshener

  8. #8
    I can post! Club Member .killsec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    England - Suffolk
    Posts
    77
    Feedback
    0
    All great info guys thank you! I'm not planning on a massive sound system, just probably going to add a decent sub and some focals. I've got some other things planned down the way that'll draw some power as well. I might still go ahead and replace the power wires anyways just in an effort to clean up the engine bay by getting rid of ugly factory wiring. I'll just call it future proofing? I guess? lol.

  9. #9
    I'm addicted now! Club Member Harrypm82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    England - Greater Manchester
    Posts
    991
    Feedback
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by .killsec View Post
    All great info guys thank you! I'm not planning on a massive sound system, just probably going to add a decent sub and some focals. I've got some other things planned down the way that'll draw some power as well. I might still go ahead and replace the power wires anyways just in an effort to clean up the engine bay by getting rid of ugly factory wiring. I'll just call it future proofing? I guess? lol.
    Remember electrics don't draw the current, it uses what it's given

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •