Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: VVTi TT6 dyno run.....no where near stock figures

  1. #1
    I can post! Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    64
    Feedback
    0

    Unhappy VVTi TT6 dyno run.....no where near stock figures

    Hey guys, today I decided to put my vvti tt6 supra on the dyno to see what sort of power it would make before I went BPU spec.

    Car:

    2000 Toyota Supra VVTi 2jzgte manual
    Kakimoto catback exhaust
    Hks intake



    As you can see it just about made 192bhp and the boost massively falls off after 3500 rpm which shows the 2nd turbo isnt coming on at all!?!?!
    The car had fresh plugs, oil and filter recently too.

    Any thoughts? Looks to me as a boost leak or vaccum leak? But I dont know where to start or look or how to even tackle the issue. Any help much appreciated!

  2. #2
    Me? Post? Never! Club Member Mike2JZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    England - Kent
    Posts
    2,129
    Feedback
    12 (100%)
    Put car in TTC mode. If you get boost across both turbo's then you know you are dealing with either a plumbing or VSV issue.

  3. #3
    Built not bought! Club Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    England - Derbyshire
    Posts
    1,391
    Feedback
    9 (100%)

  4. #4
    VVTI finally! Club Member JasonR24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England - Norfolk
    Posts
    5,271
    Feedback
    8 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike2JZ View Post
    Put car in TTC mode. If you get boost across both turbo's then you know you are dealing with either a plumbing or VSV issue.
    Unless it’s the hose to the pressure tank then you still won’t get boost

  5. #5
    I can post! Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    64
    Feedback
    0
    Right I'll get all the boost pipes/hoses checked along with the valve and vaccum hoses too, also a smoke test should be helpful

  6. #6
    Posting is my life! Club Member Jellybean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7,771
    Feedback
    6 (100%)
    If the vacuum hoses where never changed I would swap out with Gates Racing , inexpensive , piece of mind

    Same as OE

    Vacuum Hose Sizes

    4mm 3 metres
    5mm 1 metre
    6mm 1 metre

    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/330803508813...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

  7. #7
    Work... what work? MEMBERSHIP EXPIRED
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    353
    Feedback
    0
    Thanks Jelly Bean. Sorry to hear the disappointment Rashed.
    Hope you find the issue and hopefully it isn't a turbo shot.

  8. #8
    Helpful Club Member Scooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    England - Surrey
    Posts
    10,403
    Feedback
    44 (100%)
    Number 8 ...........doing my best to keep
    Number 9 ........been and gone!
    Number 10 ........on its way

  9. #9
    I can post! Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    64
    Feedback
    0
    Sorry forgot to update this thread.

    It turned out to be a split vaccum hose which was replaced then I went ahead and went BPU....awaiting to put it on a dyno.

    Will keep you guys posted!

  10. #10
    Ride Or Die Club Member Supra-love's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    England - Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    930
    Feedback
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jellybean View Post
    If the vacuum hoses where never changed I would swap out with Gates Racing , inexpensive , piece of mind

    Same as OE

    Vacuum Hose Sizes

    4mm 3 metres
    5mm 1 metre
    6mm 1 metre

    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/330803508813...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    Does this cover all the hose in the engine bay as this is something I want to do to mine! Cheers
    In the words of sir Winston Churchill, Never, Never, Never, Give Up.

  11. #11
    I can post! Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    64
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jellybean View Post
    If the vacuum hoses where never changed I would swap out with Gates Racing , inexpensive , piece of mind

    Same as OE

    Vacuum Hose Sizes

    4mm 3 metres
    5mm 1 metre
    6mm 1 metre

    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/330803508813...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    Any guides etc? I would like to have a crack at this myself just for peice of mind

    Thanks again!

  12. #12
    Posting is my life! Club Member Jellybean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7,771
    Feedback
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Supra-love View Post
    Does this cover all the hose in the engine bay as this is something I want to do to mine! Cheers
    All the vacuum hoses, yes

  13. #13
    Posting is my life! Club Member Jellybean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7,771
    Feedback
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rashed View Post
    Any guides etc? I would like to have a crack at this myself just for peice of mind

    Thanks again!
    no need, it is very easy once you start doing it , just unclip the spring clips, take the hose off, cut to size , replace with new hose

  14. #14
    I can post! Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    England - West Midlands
    Posts
    64
    Feedback
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jellybean View Post
    no need, it is very easy once you start doing it , just unclip the spring clips, take the hose off, cut to size , replace with new hose
    Sorry what I meant was is there a guide to show where all these vacuum hoses are located to see which ones to replace? Sorry to come off as a total noob.

    Thanks again!

  15. #15
    Posting is my life! Club Member Jellybean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7,771
    Feedback
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rashed View Post
    Sorry what I meant was is there a guide to show where all these vacuum hoses are located to see which ones to replace? Sorry to come off as a total noob.

    Thanks again!
    They are all very visible once you have the hood up , in my experience what I found was, they may look good at initial glance but one of my hoses was split behind; visually I could only see after I removed it

    The Turbo side hoses, where brittle; finicky little buggers to remove

    Just start from the turbo side and work your way across ; I replaced them all (just of piece of mind); nothing worse than chasing a boost leak

    Took about 30 mins

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •