The mkiv Supra Owners Club

A Pillar Pod/Trim fitting

Bank Holiday Monday morning I get a call from mawby (well, Tigger actually, but same difference) asking if I could help them out and refit an A Pillar Pod/Trim that had come loose in mawby's car, I said "No probs, bring it round", what follows is a little write up (with pics) to help out anybody else who wants to have a go at this...

I'm no expert on A pillar pods as I've never had the need to look at them before, but this is one of the aftermarket types that has no provision in-built to use the existing mounting hardwear of a standard trim piece (although it was supplied with velcro strips I believe)...

...as you can see it's just plain fibreglass on the back, after lining them up together it looked like the only original mounting point that we wouldn't be able to use was the lower of the two button poppers on the forward section due to the lower guage being exactly there.

To recreate the upper button popper mount I had a rummage through my garage and came up with this...

... this is a button popper mount from the back of an old vauxhall cavalier (mkiii) door card, all I did was cut the lug off the top at the correct depth...

... and glue it to the back of the pod/trim in exactly the same place as the original...

Next we had to recreate the three plastic tabs on the upper section of the original trim piece so as to use the original mounting clips attached to the roof structure on the car, again digging around in the garage I found a suitable offcut of plastic I had left over from another project, 2mm thick plastic card which I cut three tabs from approx 50mm long and 9mm wide...

...you may be able to make out in the above pic that at first I cut them at three different widths, 8, 9, & 10mm, as it turns out this isn't necessary, 8 or 9mm is fine 10mm is too wide.