The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Still smoking, still no solution

Jake

:banghead:

Somebody please tell me what to do with my car.

('00 VVTi with PHR Stage One GT60 single turbo)

(Previously discussed in this thread)

It's smoking like hell on the over-run. In this thread Jarrett from PowerHouse Racing reckons it's not the turbo and it's probably valve stem seals, rings, or PCV system that are causing the problem.

The compression seems OK to me (145psi on each cylinder). Surely the stem seals can't be the problem on a 50,000 mile car?

I don't really understand the PCV system but from what I've read I don't think it would cause smoke on the over-run, would it?

What can I do to diagnose the problem?

Thanks for any help.

As you know I'm no expert, but leaking stem seals would show themsleves on cold startup or after a long idle. Does it smoke when firing up or after a throttle blip after 10mins+ idle?

If not then I can't see how the stem seals could be at fault.

Is it puffing blue smoke under boost at all? What about off-boost?

No smoke on startup, cold or hot.

It only seems to do it when I close the throttle while driving along.

I think I'm right in saying that it only does it when I'm on some boost (even very low boost) and then close the throttle. It's possible that it does it if I'm cruising off-boost and then take my off but I haven't noticed it.

(Smoke from the car you're driving is hard to see unless it's pretty bad)

BTW

It's blue smoke so must be oil. It's using lots of oil too.

Hi Jake

Lets look at this logically.

I don't remember you saying that the car has always done this, so if it's suddenly started doing it, its unlikely to be valve stem seals. They don't "blow" as such, just gradually wear. You start off noticing a small amount of smoke and it gradually gets worse over the course of time. Valve stem seal problems are more pronounced with the throttle closed, on the overrun, due to the oil being drawn into the cylinders by the high vacuum.