The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hybrid Turbos Questons

Glosphil

As lee mentions below, about his HKS Turbo Kit, here is what he suggests I would need to do to fit it. Anyone else add their opinions ? what would be a rought price of doing all this and who could do it for me ? and fit the turbo kit !

Is it worth doing ? or is there a better route ?

Im presuming it will be a lot quicker than going BPU ?

Is there a way to lay the power down better as I have trouble on anything but dry roads laying it down as it is.

Its not that bad to fit I did mine myself and Im not a mechanic, the hardest part is getting the stock twins off, thats a real PITA!

I already have the kit fully assembled on the manifold so you just need to slide it onto the head, the manifold bolts are tricky to get to but not impossible.

You would need at least the following mods to use kit.

FMIC

Piggyback or replacement ECU

Uprated Injectors 650 or higher

Uprated Fuel Pump

Full Decat

Uprated Clutch plate

With these mods you could run the kit fine and see good horsepower (550BHP) at low boost anything more and you would need cams, complete fuel system, complete twin plate clutch pack.

On my car these turbos made 500 at the hubs on 1 bar!

You need to realise first that the HKS kit isnt hybrid turbos!

they are a full replacement, and dont just 'up the power a bit' they will double the power, maybe a little more than double.

If you are considering BPU, then this isnt really the kit for you!

It would be a bit of overkill if you are looking for a little more power, hybrids can offer iirc around 450 - 500 bhp, this kit is rated a lot higher!

To put it in perspective, the choice between these and a set of true hybrids is like buying a fiesta to nip to the shops or an F1 car ;)

You need to realise first that the HKS kit isnt hybrid turbos!

they are a full replacement, and dont just 'up the power a bit' they will double the power, maybe a little more than double.