The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Headlights

egrossi

Hi All,

How ya doing. Hope you can help with my headlight beams, well, changed the standard ones to xenon ones. It did increase the beam slightly but nothing to shout about. Is there anything you guys could suggest that could improve them. Almost like my lights are not on when I'm on a dark road alone.

Regards

Milly.

Guest gzaerojon

they're not too bad, drivers side is a little dull, have you tried giving it a polish? i would definatly invest in some hid's though, i have them on mine and it's like daylight (almost ;))

Gzaerojon you could'nt tell me the cost of conversation to HIDs bud think thats the way I may need to go.

Thanks.

Before you will go for HID's - check if everything is allright with voltage and condition of light from close look. You should see standart lights properly and pretty bright at nightime.

I've been thinking of putting in something more enlightening too ;) As I'm new to mods on Supra's, erm..what exactly are HID's and how do they vary from standard bulbs? Also, i am assuming that fitment will vary weather UK/J Spec, TT or NA? :confused:

Thanks

Hi,

For more information on the background of what HID's actually are click here: High-intensity discharge lamp

The HID kits usually come with looms, ballasts, mounting brackets and lamps, and are as such not a straight bulb swap, but a little bit of extra work to fit (not terrible though by the looks of things).

I believe the bulb types for the dipped is either 9006 for UK fitment and 9005 for J-Spec. I am not sure what variations there are above and beyond that for facelift yada yada, but I am sure someone can advise more appropriately if you ask a specific question :)

I have a set of HID lamps sat aside awaiting my install when I get my finger out and stop doing work around the house ;)

Cheers,

Simon.