The mkiv Supra Owners Club

engine abuse?

mathew

after a reply of mine on another post i mentioned that i only used the car to go to the gym and back which was only 0.3 miles each way.

i then had comments regarding the engine not having time to warm up and comments such as 'poor car' etc

this got me thinking then that yeah the car hasnt had long to warm up but does it really matter as even if i drove it for 30 miles it would still have to go through the phase of heating up properly so therefor doing just as much damage anyway.

it may be a silly question but it had me thinking about it for a good 8 minutes this morning

Alot of wear happens when the engine is cold. Takes a good 20 mins for most engines to get to the ideal temp. Im no mechanic but shorts runs dont do a car anygood. But if you cant avoid this just take it out for a good hour run.

Im sure someone will explain in more mechanical/scientific terms.

i normally let mine warm up before i leave the driveway, and allways let her cool down before i put her away (need to get a turbo timer methinks). Any way, oneday i was in a major rush so i didnt really warm her up (1 minute instead of 5 - 8) and noticed that by the time i was at the end of my road (about a minute) she was at normal temps. so, is it worth it? im not sure, but im not risking any long term damage for the sake of a few minutes.....

I "think" i remember that you get a fair amount of condensation in the engine and that by not going far the oil doesn't get hot enough to evaporate this off but it will get mixed in the sump.......when you stop you get the condensation again and further water added...........

I think this is why the oil should be changed every 6 months or so regardless of mileage............