The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Newby needing info

Poshmalc

Hi guys,

I might be being a bit of a plum here but I'm new to the Supra game. Properly used to Vauxhalls before now, sorry!

Can anyone tell me the difference between late spec/facelift models of the mk4 Supra. I keep seeing references to it on certain websites and have found myself a bit confused. Also what do the codes JZA 80 and MA70 relate to?

Cheers for any info guys! ;)

Matt

JZA80 - Supra MKIV

MA70 - Supra MKIII

The facelift is both cosmetic and mechanical, depending on the car. There are some facelifts which have not had the VVTi engine fitted. Facelift has different lights at the front and back, some different gauge cluster bits. Essentially they are the same car at the end of the day.

The VVTi however has different ECU (bear this in mind if you are considering modding it).

JZA 80 is the mk4 engine, the ma70 is the mk3 engine i think. The late models that are face lift have better lights rear and front and slim front indercators, not the big orange things. But all these lights can be put on a non facelift anyway. Also some of the later models are VVTI, Well worth getting if you can aford it. good luck boyo.

JZA 80 is the mk4 engine, the ma70 is the mk3 engine i think. The late models that are face lift have better lights rear and front and slim front indercators, not the big orange things. But all these lights can be put on a non facelift anyway. Also some of the later models are VVTI, Well worth getting if you can aford it. good luck boyo.

JZA80/MA70 refers to the body/chassis design.

2JZ-GE, 2JZ0-GTE being the engine's that were fitted by standard, not aware of the UK and J-spec having different codes.

7M-GTE, 7M-GE and 1JZ-GTE were fitted the MA70 chassis.

The major differences between facelift and non-facelift are:

Front and rear lights including indictor clusters and where they are positioned on the car

Front bumper

Seats