The mkiv Supra Owners Club

How to get more power from a 1994 NA?

Guest samcoombes

Guest samcoombes

Hey everyone

I'm new to Supra ownership, so take it easy on me!

I've just bought a standard 1994 NA Supra, and love it to bits.

What bhp are these cars as standard? I was wondering what else could be done engine wise to push the power up a bit - and pelase don't tell me to buy a TT - can't justify the insurance :(

I used to have a 1995 BMW 323, and with this, i was able to add induction kit and BBTB to gain a it more power, along with a different manifold and remap. Are things like this available for the Supra? What am I looking at price wise?

I'd also like a decent exhaust - which is best? Something that may add a little power, look good, and sound nice (not like a boyracer) :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi and welcome to the club, in answer to your question, when the Supe left the factory in 1994 it was probably pushing out 220bhp, now after 12 years you are looking at about 200bhp. You can decat and put on an aftermarket exhaust, induction kit (Apexi is the best of the bunch, or an after market filter fo your stock box) this will probably release 10 to 12bhp all together. You cannot chip the NA, despite what anyone else says. Martin at MkIV stores has a header for the NA which he did a RR test on and that gave another 9bhp. Unless you want to spend massive amounts on the car that is probably the most you will get.

Uprating the suspension, for better handling and swapping the JSpec brakes for the UK setup which is bigger and also means you can brake later into the corner is also something to consider.

On choice of exhaust, there are so many to choose from, I have the RSR which is quiet around town but VERY loud when its WOT.

Guest samcoombes