The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Converting from auto to manual box question(s)

Pabs

hey peeps

Converting from an auto box to manual - how many of you have done this?

Basically I have a few questions on it that I'd like more info on if possible.

From what I understand, the auto is FAR more juicy than the manual - some threads state arond 10mpg difference. Correct?

So, if you remove an auto box, and replace with the 6-speed, I assume the mpg would be that of a manual, ie there are no other differences that would still affect consumption?

Also, for those that have done it - how much did it cost, all in? I have been really toying with the idea of an Aero supra, but they are only found in autos, so i'd like to do a conversion. Auto's also seem to be cheaper, so it could work out ok price-wise, and my brother knows his stuff with cars and has offered to help with the swap anyway.

Thanks all - sorry if they are dumb questions - i'm still learning!

Ive been looking into this as well. LeeT & Tlicense have both done this conversion. Where Lee iro spent around 1k doing it by slowly collecting all the parts and swapping it himself. Tony bought most of the bits new and cost around 6k i think to do it. Unless your extremely good at spannering then id sell the auto and buy a manual...far cheaper. Im going to be doing this conversion this winter and with 2nd hand parts its still going to cost me 1-2k but its something i want to do and will be fitting myself....

No that's bollocks.

I've got all three types (Auto, Tiptronic, 6sp manual)

Really? So what is the difference then - as i know autos are more juicy, just don't know HOW much difference there is.

I'm also assuming that the tiptronic is worse than the manual too, even in "semi-auto" mode as theres still no clutch for the driver...?

Really? So what is the difference then - as i know autos are more juicy, just don't know HOW much difference there is.