PDA

View Full Version : Change of electric Ariel



Paul Laing
18-03-03, 10:54
can i change the electric big ariel and get a small one?

Willson
28-03-03, 15:33
I would love to do this too.
Or maybe an internal aerial of some sort.
The stock Supra one looks like a bloody flag pole. :D

Matt Harwood
28-03-03, 21:08
You've already got an internal aerial.... The Supra has diversity aerials

The other aerial is in the rear window. to make use of it, you need to chop off the small aerial plug behind the dash and fit a larger type aerial plug. Then disconnect, or put a switch, on the automatic aerial in the boot.
Disconnecting the electric aerial wire at the front will stop the screen aerials amplifier from working, so it HAS to be disconnected at the electric aerial.

Willson
28-03-03, 21:28
Matt, sorry to ask, but could you explain that again please ?


chop off the small aerial plug behind the dash and fit a larger type aerial plug.

My car came (to me) with an aftermarket stereo, so any idea where I might find this wire with the smaller plug ?
I'm assuming both are connected to the stock unit ?
Are you saying change the plug on this wire and connect where the existing aerial is ?

Thanks.

PS. This section should be renamed "Ask Matt "!:D

Mark Kindell
29-03-03, 00:35
Yep sorry Matt i didn't follow that :stupid: Run it by me again and is this going to pick up a good reception or half of what you would get normally get so to speak :eek:


>The other aerial is in the rear window. to make use of it, you need to chop off the small aerial plug behind the dash and fit a larger type aerial plug< Got that bit :)

But.... >Then disconnect, or put a switch, on the automatic aerial in the boot.
Disconnecting the electric aerial wire at the front will stop the screen aerials amplifier from working, so it HAS to be disconnected at the electric aerial.< that bit all went a bit pear shaped lol
:conf:

Steve W
29-03-03, 14:26
AND ME TOO ! !

I very rarely use the aerial as I mostly listen to CD's, BUT, I also
don't like the "Fishing-Rod" jobbie up when I'm motorin' at any pace !?

I used to have a Heated Rear Element Jobbie in me mkIV escort.

Is it like that ? 'cos that worked just as well as a normal one !!!

(YES, re-explain the radio-plug thingy Matt - I understand the
PULL-THE-AERIAL-WIRE bit ! !)

GO MATT, GO MATT, YAY, GO MATT ! !

Willson
29-03-03, 14:33
:D

Matt Harwood
29-03-03, 15:09
Can't you lot understand plain gobeldygook! :D

Right, remove the existing radio... Behind/under there you will find 2 aerial plugs. One large, one small. The large on relates to the main electric aerial, (Those of you with aftermarket radios will already be using this.).
Take the one with the small plug, cut off the plug and then connect a larger plug to the coax, (you should be able to get these plugs from any car audio supplier - They can be a bit fiddly to solder up).
You could try to connect both aerial plugs together, but I've never tried this, so I don't know how/if this would work, but it wouldn't damage anything.

Then, at the back of the car, at the electric aerial, either cut the wire that goes positive when the radio turns on, or, if you want to use the main aerial again, put a switch in line to turn it on/off. (A switch will only be of benefit if you are going to attempt to join both aerials together) - MAKE SURE YOU INSULATE THE CUT WIRE!
This connection HAS to be done at the aerial itself because you still need the radio to turn on the aerial amplifier for the rear screen.

The aerial in the rear screen is not as good as the main aerial, but it will work.

Does that make sense now? ;)

Willson
29-03-03, 15:54
Cheers Buddy,

I'll give that a go.

:)

Steve W
29-03-03, 17:22
Sounds good Matt....... perfectly clear now.....
.
..
...
....
.....

SO, how does that work again ? (:p )

Matt Harwood
29-03-03, 19:07
Or... If you can't be bothered to disconnect the electric aerial, take it through a car wash whilst listening to the radio! :innocent: