The mkiv Supra Owners Club

My babby is all painted up!....

Sub_Culture

Well, shes painted.......... and Im chuffed to bits! The colour has turned out PERFECTLY! Very hard to take a picture of it, but it is a Toyota white with a very fine metallic and gold/blue pearl. I think it's spot on!

Still got lots to do (mesh front bumper, get small front numberplate, clear indicators, late spec rear lights etc etc etc!!!!), but she's made great progress this weekend.

Anyway, enough of me babbling, here's some piccys! Hope you all like.

Andy

No, dont mind at all, mate. Im still learning to paint but done most of it myself! Just got a little help putting the pearl on, as I still need to master that. It truly is an art.

The paint is a Toyota 'Metallic White Sparkle'. Used two litres of white basecoat and two litres of pearl. That worked out to £120 (which is a trade price). I used four coats of UCI lacquer which works out at another £40, so all in all, not too expensive. Im really happy with it. Think the car look infinitely smarter, and really modernises the whole appearance.

Andy

Thanks, Gareth. My friend owns a bodyshop, and so was kind enough to let me use his oven/guns etc etc. Not sure on what makes they are, but can find out for you?

Andy

Damn, wish i had a friend with a bodyshop. Good friend to have. Im only asking all these question cos repainting is something i plan to do with my next one and would love to have a go myself. That way i can make sure everything is smoothed off and filled in like you did, without paying 2-3k for it. Trouble is id be doing it in a garage and not sure its the right environment for it. I could hire a few heaters, thats not a major problem, its the dust and other crap floating around.