The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Odd Idle? and other Questions!

Tricky-Ricky

Yes i have searched, but have not turned up anything resembling this!

cold start it has a couple of pulses and settles at 800RPM when it should be 1500 ish!? hot idle 1100-1200 RPM? in fact almost the opposite of what it should be? any ideas? has anyone got manual pages referring to idle set up- adjustment procedure? or is it likely to be ECU engine temp sensor or a lambda problem? although i know what I'm doing, I'm new to the Supras engine control and feedback quirks,

Also has anyone any tips for getting rid of the gearstick/reverse lock rattle?

you should be ideling at 800rpm ish surly (on stock cams) or do you have non stock cams, 1500rpm idle would be more like a car with 264 cams around may even 272's am i wrong?? but can be a number of things, do you have a lightweight flywheel, lightweight flywheels can cause a lumpy idle and low speed surge

you should be ideling at 800rpm ish surly (on stock cams) or do you have non stock cams, 1500rpm idle would be more like a car with 264 cams around may even 272's am i wrong?? but can be a number of things, do you have a lightweight flywheel, lightweight flywheels can cause a lumpy idle and low speed surge

i have a rock steady idle at 680 (no electrical load or ac) with medium cams and light flywheel. a 1500 rpm idle is not pleasant, especially with loud exhausts :)

Well i have taken it down to 800RPM by adjusting the stop screw, will see what its like tomorrow when its stone cold! it actually looked like it had been adjusted before? but as it was previously to slow when cold, and afaics its controlled by the ECU, i will have to wait until i get a manual to get to the bottom of it!