The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Blitz speed jumpers vs HKS sld

matt

If there is no price difference between them then I would go with the HKS one purely because it seems to be fairly standard for imported Supra's. There is no need to buck the trend just for the sake of bucking the trend when it comes to engine electronics. Go with what you know works. Better to be safe than sorry.

I have no experience of either as my replacement ECU has a built in de-limiter, so I am speking from a fairly blind and neutral perspective.

Please be careful about using an SLD on an auto. HKS have two types, one for manual and another very different type for the auto. Though I do know of people who have fitted the manual HKS SLD to the auto and it appears to work.

Though the big question in my mind is why the radical difference between the two? There has to be good reason for it. Unfortunately, because most of my time, to date, has been spent working on other aspects of the car, the gearbox electronics still remain something of a mystery.

Yours,

J

It defeats the 180kmh limit on imported Japanese cars, thereby enabling you to lose your license even quicker than in a limted car. See the "Delimitng - How to" thread elsewhere in this forum for more details...

My best guess would be that the gearbox ECU needs to know the true vehicle speed on the "wrong" side of the 180kmh limit for the kickdown to work properly, so the auto version of the SLD needs to talk to the gearbox ECU as well as the engine ECU.

Ash, just a quickie. I'm sure you are really busy but would you be able to e-mail me those auto box HKS SLD instructions before the end of next week? I'm probably going to JIC on Saturday 11th and I would like to wave them under their noses to see if I can get them to fit one for me.

Cheers,

Darren