The mkiv Supra Owners Club

buying supras

mattanna

Hi all I am new to this game and am thinking of importing a supra grade 4from Japan probably with bonsai cars.I am after an sz manual non turbo. I have a few questions like what should i be looking out for i.e timing belts. how much would it cost to get one done in this country? and are there any engine pitfalls to be wary off or are they bulletproof like most jap engines. Also will the thing rust away over here if i do not get it waxoiled? Last thing is what mpg can i expect and where should you get them serviced?/

sorry for all the questions

sincerely

Matt

Timing belt is about £200, although no immediate panic on this as the engine is non interference, ie no major damage if the cambelt breaks.

Engine is pretty much bullet proof yes

It will rust faster if you don't waxoil it but it won't exactly rust before your eyes if you don't do it.

MPG on a non turbo manual could get up to 30 if you drove like a saint, but expect 23 i'd say.

As for servicing, well i'd say DIY but if thats not an option then a good local man you can trust. Nothing really out of the ordinary on the supra as far as regular servicing goes, a good mechanic should have no problems (except poss cambelt where heat should NOT be used on the crank pulley)

Also just my 2p but i'd get one already here i could see/drive

good luck with it.............

Hi all I am new to this game and am thinking of importing a supra grade 4from Japan probably with bonsai cars.I am after an sz manual non turbo. I have a few questions like what should i be looking out for i.e timing belts. how much would it cost to get one done in this country? and are there any engine pitfalls to be wary off or are they bulletproof like most jap engines. Also will the thing rust away over here if i do not get it waxoiled? Last thing is what mpg can i expect and where should you get them serviced?/

sorry for all the questions

sincerely

Matt