PDA

View Full Version : How To Dyno



Alex
05-12-05, 16:54
NB: DUE TO THE HIGHSPEEDS INVOLVED IN DOING A 1:1 DYNO SOME DYNO'S WON'T BE ABLE TO DO THESE IDEAL RUNS.

If you wish to Dyno your Supra please INSIST on the following;

Run your powerrun in the 1:1 ratio gear. This means it's running at the same speed as the engine, not under or over driven. It's therefore more accurate to what the engine is actually doing and you don't get sill conversion factors. Also confirm that the dyno is setup to immitate a straight FLAT road, uphill or down hill will just frig the figures.

Manual V160/V161 6speed
DYNO IN 5TH GEAR

6 Speed (V160) / (V161)
1 --- 3.827 / 3.724
2 --- 2.360 / 2.246
3 --- 1.685 / 1.541
4 --- 1.312 / 1.205
5 --- 1.000 / 1.000
6 --- 0.793 / 0.818
Rev - 3.280 / 3.192
Diff - 3.266(all TT) / 3.769(NA)


Manual W58 5speed
DYNO IN 4TH GEAR

1 --- 3.285
2 --- 1.894
3 --- 1.275
4 --- 1.000
5 --- 0.783
Rev - 3.768
Diff - 4.083(NA)

Auto (A343E) 4speed
DYNO IN 3RD GEAR

1 --- 2.804
2 --- 1.531
3 --- 1.000
4 --- 0.705
Rev - 2.393
Diff - 3.769(TT) / 4.083(NA)

Auto's are hard to Dyno. You have to be in Manu mode with O/D off. You also need to start at about 3000rpm to avoid kickdown.

Alex
05-12-05, 17:26
Can this be stickied for a week and then FAQ'd please?

tDR
05-12-05, 17:43
Stickied.

Auto's won't hold 3rd gear despite being in manu with overdrive off - hence the problems RR'ing them.

Cheers,

Brian.

Alex
05-12-05, 17:49
Cheers - edited above.

TuneAgent
16-06-06, 12:53
good info

Its good to use 5th gear on teh 6 speed, but most dyno owners I know prefer to do 4th due to the speed the cars can reach in 5th

Alex
16-06-06, 13:55
good info

Its good to use 5th gear on teh 6 speed, but most dyno owners I know prefer to do 4th due to the speed the cars can reach in 5th

A fair point...but then should you take a car with this much power to a less well equipped dyno? :shrug:

TuneAgent
16-06-06, 14:57
I found that peak power staid the same but i got a bit better spool in 5th due to load

mikeyb10supra
10-11-06, 10:21
Auto's are hard to Dyno. You have to my in Manu mode with O/D off. You also need to start at about 3000rpm to avoid kickdown.

Great info Alex...worthy of a sticky ;)

im not sure the auto will kick down in manual mode though will it?

tDR
10-11-06, 14:10
Great info Alex...worthy of a sticky ;)

im not sure the auto will kick down in manual mode though will it?

They do unfortunately :(

Have been to numerous dyno days and witnessed it with my own cars and others....

Cheers,

Brian.

Class One
10-11-06, 14:16
Only upto 60mph ish then they will stay in geat all the way to the red line.

mikeyb10supra
10-11-06, 14:21
They do unfortunately :(

Have been to numerous dyno days and witnessed it with my own cars and others....

Cheers,

Brian.

How strange....I wont argue with you if you have had this happen, ive never experienced this my self but take your word for it!!

Seems like a bit of a design flaw really, manu mode should mean manual and hold it in gear!! ive hear about changing down when the revs are too high and the ECU telling it not to shift down until the revs are lower?

How bizzare

8secSupra
30-11-06, 06:04
The peak HP numbers will be exactly the same on a 6 speed if you dyno in 4th gear or 5th gear. But, we dyno in 4th gear because its a quicker pull and you dont reach almost 180 MPH as you can in 5th. Much safer on a dyno.

Thorin
30-11-06, 06:11
But, we dyno in 4th gear because its a quicker pull and you dont reach almost 180 MPH as you can in 5th.

My gearing must be wrong.

8secSupra
30-11-06, 15:59
My gearing must be wrong.

No, its the type of dyno. Most rolling roads in the UK are twin roller type, like Clayton or Autosport. This is a completely different mass than a Dynojet, which we use here in the US. I've just ran into this problem tuning Leon's car, there only seems to be a couple of good Dynojet dynos in the UK currently...

uk-rich
30-11-06, 16:05
what is the difference between yours and our dyno's then

cheers

Wez
30-11-06, 16:08
what is the difference between yours and our dyno's then

cheers

They read a little higher :p

Steven Cordiner
31-12-06, 17:43
My gearing must be wrong.

Revving to 8k rpm?

blancovich
21-01-07, 19:19
hey man: thanks a lot for this info, I was on a dyno about a week ago and the guy did tell me he had some probs with the set up and that he could do a dyno run on "inclined" surface. Since it sounded kinda BS, i just did not spend the money.

URASaustralia
06-03-07, 06:47
No, its the type of dyno. Most rolling roads in the UK are twin roller type, like Clayton or Autosport. This is a completely different mass than a Dynojet

im not a fan of dyno jets, dyna pack or dyno dynamics all day long for me.

The dyno jets give 'high' readings in my experience.

Rab88
02-04-07, 13:30
I was gonna have my auto supra TT run on a dastek dyno, although, i was told that the torque converter cant handle it??

Alex
02-04-07, 13:46
You can dyno an auto, but you need to use manual mode and lok it into 3rd gear as low in the rev range as possible. Any dyno operator worth his salt can do this.

AndrewOW
02-04-07, 14:06
I didn't have any problems with my dyno, and mine's an auto.

Chris and Alana
02-04-07, 14:56
Iv been wanting to get my auto dyno'd for a while now since going BPU. Does anyone know a good one in the NE?

tDR
02-04-07, 17:09
I was gonna have my auto supra TT run on a dastek dyno, although, i was told that the torque converter cant handle it??

They can't do it at Dastek because the auto Supra's always drop a gear and climb out the dyno there. I think it's because of the ramp rate of the rollers being really high - they run the car up without any resistance then when they want to measure the power output they use a switch which puts the brake on the dyno, it's the equivalent of accelerating hard up a very very steep hill with 4 mates in the car towing a caravan.... the auto Supra kicks down every time without fail even with a lock up switch fitted and in use :(

I'm of the opinion dyno figures for auto Supra's are pretty meaningless because there seems to be a lot of fudging to get any sort of figure on the roller type - a hub dyno is the best bet to get an accurate measurement but even then you have torque multiplication to consider with the TC involved.

Cheers,

Brian.

MarkR
30-04-07, 19:54
You can dyno an auto, but you need to use manual mode and lok it into 3rd gear as low in the rev range as possible. Any dyno operator worth his salt can do this.

Thanks for the thread Alex :)

Are these figures the same for the Tiptronic? Is there any difference in the ratio's? I think they're the same box but not sure. How do you lock it in 3rd?

Andyhannah
30-07-07, 23:35
Iv been wanting to get my auto dyno'd for a while now since going BPU. Does anyone know a good one in the NE?

Miami GT ran 6 autos on a Dyno Dynamics at TOTB at Elvington yesterday, we're at Selby, pls call Andy on 01757 630163 or 01405 860321 best regards And:dy

bodilx6
23-08-07, 10:46
I just dynoed a few weeks ago, and the guy there insisted on doing it in 6th. Why is that? Everything ran smoothly (a LOT of noise though.. wow), but will it actually make a difference in the results from doing a pull in 4th, 5th or 6th?

NITO
12-09-07, 10:48
You can lock the Auto Supra in 2nd on the dyno with Manu mode, this is how mine was done on the G-Force rollers, but its not ideal!

For-Tune PVE
17-10-07, 10:11
Miami GT ran 6 autos on a Dyno Dynamics at TOTB at Elvington yesterday, we're at Selby, pls call Andy on 01757 630163 or 01405 860321 best regards And:dy

I was there matey, and I also ran an Auto Supra on my Dyno Dynamics rollers a few weeks back with no issues. Unfortunately, there are all kinds of theories and beliefs out there, but the reality is, provided the car maintains traction, is securely strapped and hits peak power somewhere between 60 and 100mph (in the case of Dyno Dynamics), we're doing just fine. The stock 2JZ we had in here made 330.1bhp at the flywheel.

Dyno Dynamics rolling roads measure the tractive force at the wheel. A simple calculation translates this into the power supplied at the wheels, so in fact, the only real differences between a hub-mounted dyno's "hub figure" and a good rolling road's "wheel power figure" are the rotational inertias of the wheels and tyres, and the rolling resistance of the tyres. Some may argue that that gives a true "wheel power" figure, which is the power transmitted directly to the road ;)

JohnA
16-03-08, 09:27
This book (http://www.amazon.com/Dyno-Testing-Tuning-S-Design/dp/1932494499/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1205655940&sr=1-2)is also relevant for those interested deeper:cool:

kint
11-06-08, 19:25
Good info!!
Can anyone tell me how much does it cost?(gettin' it dyno'd)?
Thanks:sos:

monkey3
11-06-08, 19:49
And a list of good dyno \ RR locations would be nice...

Anyone up for making a google mashup?
I don't mind doing it if I can be supplied with a long list of RR's

Handsome luke
08-10-10, 14:41
A fair point...but then should you take a car with this much power to a less well equipped dyno? :shrug:

Its not about how well equiped the dyno is mate..

We have a Dyno Dynamics 450 and it has a recomended test speed as does every dyno.

It is better to measure power at a slower speed for many reasons .

Another factor is what type of dyno ie. braked or inertia.

Most rollers as in the cylinder itself are only rated to 150 mph ..

Jamesy
08-10-10, 15:11
I can confirm as im sure Ryan will .... dyno'ing an Auto can be a fecking right pain in the 'arris!!!

Handsome luke
08-10-10, 15:25
I can confirm as im sure Ryan will .... dyno'ing an Auto can be a fecking right pain in the 'arris!!!

I agree that is why Matt gets that task lol:)

Jamesy
08-10-10, 15:41
I agree that is why Matt gets that task lol:)

Nice swerve mate!!!

We tried it first without manu mode as it wasn't working and soon realised it was a dead end mission!!