The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Just how bad is the handling???

SuperSupra

So everyone talks about the Supra being s**t in anything other than dry conditions, but my N/A which I have been driving now for about 2 months seems ok. I've gradually pushed it more and more in the wet and only managed to lose it once (when i was in a car park testing!). It seems the handling is actually pretty good unless you put your foot down going round a corner which is just common sense!!! I know the TT's will no doubt have less rear end control in the wet, but how do you fellow N/A drivers find yours???

Nice Spiderman quote! :respekt: Yeah i agree, I had a Hyundai Coupe before this and I heard people talking about the crap wet handling in that too. Obviously it's not on the same power scale as a Supe, but the principal is the same. Common sense says on a rear wheel drive car going round a corner if you put your foot down, your gonna spin out! I may sound like an old man (which I'm not by the way!) but I drive VERY sensibly in the wet cos I'm terrified of causing damage to me or anyone else!

I'd say the supra can and does handle amazingly! but as said above (and even more so on a TT than N/A) lots of power = treat the car with the huge respect it deserves!

Also, making sure you have decent tyres and decent and well setup suspension is a very wise move!

The car handles well enough in the wet that generally it will be beyond the drivers capability to handle it properly at high speed. I mean it doesn't matter what car your in, in the wet you need to proceed with some caution because braking etc is reduced and no car, 4wd or whatever is going to help you when you suddenly need to make an emergency stop!

The only catch in the TT is the huge surge of torque you get at low revs when turbo 1 comes on, so long as you are fully aware of this when exiting roundabouts etc then you should be fine.