The mkiv Supra Owners Club

mods for jspec supra

eyefi

i am very keen to mod my 93 jspec mk4, i've been running stock for 5 months now (except for hks priest zaust), i think thats long enough.

i am new to tuning & modifing. just jumping in and changing this that & the other with no consideration of its full effects is not for me. the last thing i modified was my raleigh grifter! so any answers or alternatives would be most helpful.

my initial idea was to get a set of chris wilson downpipes, waterspray, egt + boost + oil gauges, digi boost control, fuel cut defence (petes) & RL traction control. all this seemed fine until i read more & more & more. the more ive read the more confused ive become. (ive read nearly all the tech brd)

my points of confusion / concern are:

1/ are there 2 cats only in supra and are they in separate sections of the downpipe?

1a/ no cats have been removed by my existing hks system ?

2/ removal of both cats on jspec creates wild uncontrollable boost, but this can be controlled with a CW downpipe that is 2.5". this gives a steady reliable boost of 17/18 psi which can not be returned to stock by use of digi boost control. true or false ?

3/ ash reckons running more than 14 psi of boost is asking for trouble (i dont want  trouble)

4/ does waterspray cooling cancel the effect of xtra heat generated by higher boost, or is it just a safety (stop preignition) thing ?

5/ boost controllers on stock turbos is a waste of time ?

6/ egt, oil temp & boost gauge are all i need to keep a close eye on my engine ?

7/ there is no xtra fueling beyond 14psi from ECU?

8/ cars pre 94 dont need cats for MOT emmisions?

9/ does anyone else think the electronc HKS gauges are very expensive?

10/ can u run higher boost with the standard downpipe and digi boost control, if so what psi?

11/ anyone else running similar mods what MPG do u get ?

12/ when does the jspec fueling system (injectors or pump) max out ?