The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Buying Advice

dave100

Hi Guys im new to supras and am considering buying one over here in NI

I will give brief details before i see it on sat in the hope that some one can advise me on value. seller is asking £12500

1995 JDM TT manual (English Reg M661 XHC since reregd)

90000kms and 65000kms on rebuilt engine

650 BHP (yeah rite)

Alledgedly £36000 spent on engine

Usual extras associated wth big power engine but iv gotta see all the receipts

T88 turbo

anti lag

HKS coilovers

TP clutch and LW flywheel

nitrous

veilside kit trd wing

BAD BITS

problem going into reverse (prob synchro?)

Resprayed from white to electric blue but not an engine out job

No rear seats due to huge sound system

19" chromes but comes with GS300 18s

My mechanic has advised to avoid like the plague due to the respray. Is it worth a look?

TP clutch?

Gear selection issue - either 4k for a new box, 1k for a s/hand one, £Xk for a rebuild or it's just a case of tired/wrong oil! (Yes the oil in the box can make a huge difference.)

Respray - as long as it's good on the outside then no need to worry lots of full body respreays don't do under the bonnet. Get an independent check done.

Rear seats are over rated ;)

Fit the GS300's for driving around in and fit the 19's when parked at a show.

Antilag will kill the turbo....what's the ECU controlling it?

Veilside kits are of limited appeal.

Nitrous...is it on a progressive controller?

What size are the injectors?

What fuel pump?

Again what's the ECU controlling everything?

You need MUCH more info on the spec OR you need to be allowed to get it independently inspected by someone who knows what they are talking about.

Chrz for the quick replys guys. Il do my best here:

Twin plate Apexi clutch (purple in colour-the seller doesnt seem to know much abt the tech side by his own admission)

Gear selection issue - hav been told that this can be fixed before purchase