The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Tuning for BHP

Supra-Dupra

Need help on how to get some more BHP, have BPU kit minus Boost Controller.

Im new to this some help would be much appriciated !

:zen:

SD, what parts have you got fitted at the moment, Jap or UK spec Supra and what age?

J-spec

1. Check condition of you intercooler, if in poor condition it should really be replaced before continuing.

2. Fit aftermarket 'performance' exhaust.

3. Remove either just the front or ideally both CATS, replace with de-cat pipe and restrictor ring (available from Chris Wilson)

4. Adjust restirctor ring to limit power to 1 - 1.2bar.

5. Fit set of cooler spark plugs.

6. Fit boost gauge to monitor boost levels, manual boost gauges are the cheapest, electronic ones will give you functions such as peak hold and peak warning.

7. If fuel pump is original J-spec one, replace with new Walbro 255L/hr, see Vortex website.

8. Fit new fuel filter.

9. Fuel cut defender.

That should increase power to roughly around 360-380hp. With that sort or power you also realy want a set of the larger spec Supra brakes

Next step after that could be:

9. Front Mount or higher spec side mounted intercooler.

11. Fit bigger injectors, FPR and fueling computer (eg. emanage, etc.)

12. Cams

13. 'Performance' clutch

On stock turbos you're looking at max of around 430hp ish. Any more than that and you'll need to replace turbos.

If you click on my car in my signiture it will show you list of mods I have, which may be of help.

J-Spec TT 94, auto, 66k miles

Heres the changes so far most done before i bought it:

HKS Exhaust System with decat

Blitz Dump

Blitz Induction

NRK Iridium Plugs

Strut F & R

Lowered

Turbos are standard i think.

I have seen the Superchip piggy back on http://www.superchips.com but am a bit weary of it as its 500 quid which quotes +30bhp boost, but prob 500 quid would be more efficient spent other directions ?