The mkiv Supra Owners Club

What to look for.....

matt johnson

I'm wanting to buy a twin turbo manual in black and as i'm a complete novice with supras, well Toyotas in general tbh, i thought i'd ask you guys what the keys things would be to look at when buying one.

All help greatly apprieciated

Thanks

Matt

Hi and :welcome: Matt

Have a read of the posts in the FAQ section in the Tech section, lots of useful information in there, also [thread=23259]THIS THREAD[/thread] is useful for Supra buyers.

What are you looking for Twin Turbo or NA, what's your budget, etc?

cheers

Welcome :)

Thats a big subject that comes up often (As you can probably imagine!)

Black manual TT's are one of the more sought after cars, particularly the UK spec one.

Here's a search result that should bring up most of the previous posts. If there's anything you can't find the answer to there, ask away :)

http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/search.php?searchid=351943

thanks guys thats great, those threads are really helpfull.

If you did a hpi check that would obviously only be able to tell you about the car since being registered here, yes?

That carfax.com will cover it from before it was imported?

What would you class as being high mileage? Are higher mileage cars a no go, or are they ok as long if they have been serviced well. Do you think resale would be hard after adding a couple years worth of mileage,for example, to the car?

Matt

Yes, the HPI would only cover it since it's been registered. I *think* that carfax is a US thing, but could be wrong there. A Bimta check is what you need if you want to check the cars history in Japan - http://www.bimta.co.uk