The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Bigger Twins

AntD

What is the biggest twin setup currently available?Also,will the sequential setup be lost when uprating to bigger twins?

I am very new to all this ,but do like the idea of upgrading to bigger twins some time in the future :rolleyes:

Hold on, is it REALLY running 1050bhp on big twins? I didn't think it was possible (thought it was Fast Car's bollocks talk like saying he had a 3JZ-GTE engine)

There are lots of Jap and Yank Supra's running 1000bhp+ on twins.

Was it TDi that managed to do a sequential set-up on some (small) HKS twins???

I dont think those turbos run in sequential mode. Isnt he using a HKS Twin Kit? Those run parallel so no better spool up in comparisson to a single.

na he says he doesnt like singles due to the low end lag etc so i would have thought it must spool up a dam sight better than a single.

My main concern with the big single atm is the potential problem with lag at lower revs.As I said before,I'm new to all this and the lag may not be that big an issue in the end cos so many Supra owners are changing over/contemplating changing to the big single setup.

I dont believe there will be any difference in lag. A good sized single will spool the same as twins for the same amount of HP.

I also saw some info about this seq. stuff with little HKS turbos but wasnt it a big dissapointment?

2x2835's = 6-700

2x3037's = 8-900

2x3540's = 1000+

2x3742's = 1200+

The lag issue is bollox imo...

6cylinders powering 1 turbo, getting every single pulse from the engine, using 1 highly efficient turbo is going to be better than 3cylinders to each highly efficent turbo. A turbo can only be built to certain tolerances, for arguments sake we'll say there is a 3% efficiency loss due to the turbine blades not being perfectly matched to the housing. 1 turbo has a 3% efficency loss...2turbo's have a 6% loss for the same power.