The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Replace the stock boost gauge?

ivan

Newbie question time. :innocent:

I'm not happy with the stock boost gauge on my JSpec ('98 5-dial dash) because it only shows "- 0 +" without any values.

The car's had 2nd (Chris Wilson) decat so may be running too high a boost for all I know. I know the restrictor ring's not fitted.

What boost gauge would you recommend as a direct replacement for the stock one to give me peace of mind?

I'm totally new to turbos so have a lot to learn...

Cheers

edit-- Corrected by Tim, it's had the 1st decat

No chance Ivan mate. There are no decent bost gauges that small.

You'll just have to install an extra gauge of some sort. If you've decatted and got a FCD fitted you NEED to know how much boost you're running.

Have you got a FCD fitted? Do you ever hit fuel cut? I did on my 98 VVTi TT with just the front cat removed.

Give me a chance Jake - I've only had the car a few weeks - I'm still getting used to her before I let my right foot completely loose. :rtfm:

:lol:

But on the one or two occasions that it "slipped" and I accidentally went up to 130 with foot flat down there wasn't any cutout. AFAIK there's no FCD fitted. (It's TimWildman's old car.)

Ah well, I may have to lose the l/h air vent then :(

Cheers :respekt:

Defi gauges are very nice but they aren't cheap.

You need to buy the controller aswell!

You can remove the clock and put one in it's place. I bought a 52mm defi gauge which I thought would be a perfect fit. It was actually a bit small, I had to make an adapter ring to make it neatly fit.

I've seen a couple of J-Spec facelifts with a 52mm boost gauge installed into the stock location, but they all dremmel out the face and install it over the standard faceplate. I had a look, but it was far too complicated compared to a pillar mounted version, so didn't do it. You will have to cut all of the rear of the instrument cluster out if you wanted to do it, which I wasn't willing to do.