The mkiv Supra Owners Club

More power isn't giving better ET

SimonR

Hmmm. In September last year I got a quarter-mile time of [email protected] (60ft 2.423). The only mods at that time were HKS FCD and a Blitz DSBC set to approx 13psi. I had an open diff with skinny 225 tyres. I was getting wheelspin on one side off the line (which turned out to be a suspension problem - now sorted).

Since then I have added: 440cc injectors, FMIC, Emanage, LSD, 275 rear tyres and turned the boost up to 17.5psi. I dyno'd at 290rwhp@1 bar so I'm guessing that at 17.5psi I should be well over 300rwhp. Torque was 300lb-ft at the wheels from 3,000-6,000rpm at 1 bar and that's bound to be up also at 17.5psi.

So why, at the Pod yesterday, was my best time [email protected] (60ft 2.420)? I accept that I'm a crap driver and that it was v hot yesterday but I must have at least an additional 80rwhp since last year. I can't believe that would only take .16 seconds off my time. Plus I had no wheelspin so no time lost there.

This isn't really a question about tuning, more about why I can't seem to translate extra power into better times - even having cured the traction problems.

The only thing that I can think of is that I had the Emanage set up at 1 bar and that moving to 17.5psi could have thrown out the AFR so the power is actually down.

Any ideas? All help gratefully received as this is starting to wind me up. :mad: I'm thinking of moving to a big single but there's no point if it's not going to get me better ETs.

It's a Soarer TT by the way. Stock is supposed to be 280bhp (crank). Ceramic turbos, parallel not sequential.

The run last year was at Crail. It was a hot day for Scotland, probably 20-22C. The dyno run was done when the Emanage was installed by Thor earlier this year. As I remember, it was a cold, wet day. Would it make that much difference?