The mkiv Supra Owners Club

how to clean your j spec headlights

SUPRALOOPY

this is my first attempt at doing one of these so please be forgiving :(

also if the spelling is bad i'm sorry..oh and can MOD put this where it belongs please.

Right lets do it,

(step 1) remove the headlights,there are many posts on how to do this.

(step 2) you will see some gold clips around the headlight holding the lense in,remove these by using a flat blade screwdriver in the middle of the clip and twist(you'll see what i mean).

(step 3) using a hot air gun heat up around where you can see the lense going into the headlamp backing, keep the heat on the backing rather than the lense part as the bakcing is more forgiving to the heat,you may see the sealer start to bubble, or look as though its melting thats enough for that area and move along utill you have done the bottom of the light.

(step 4) using a large screwdriver or a wide chisel you will see where the clips were a slanted bit of plastic, place the chisel there and twist the backing should start to move away from the lense part, if not reheat and try again..try and keep a large area heated and then move along slowly with the chisel or screwdriver prising away the lense. do this slowly as not to damage anything. eventually with heat and prising the lense and the reflective part will come away from the backing.

(step 5) you should now have the lense with the bulb surround in one half and the backing and bulb holders in the other.now you will see a small philips screw, undo this and carefuly remove the bulb surround(i found that where the screw is if you pull the lense slightly away the surround comes past the screw hole and out quite easy) you will now have a surround and a lense that you can clean from the inside.