The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Auto v Manual (Please bare with me...)

Crossy

Hi guys...

I have dug through the forums for the past few hours looking for info on what I'm asking, I have a different target audience for the question though.

I fully know this will bring some die hards here... Now what I'm asking is for the opinion of people who have owned both an Auto and a Manual TT Supra.

I'm not asking for fire and thunder verses, just a simple message about what your opinions of both are, and what you genuinely consider the best and worst point of each. What drawbacks do you feel hinder the autos also? Are we of the opinion that Autos will hold their value as well as the Manuals?

I have always driven manual cars, also 2 Toyota's being an MR2 MK2 Rev2 and an ST205 GT4, I'm familiar with what you get out of manuals. I have no experience with Autos, at all.

I'm still 95% set on a manual. However, I've just seen a flappy paddle conversion for the auto and to say that's peaked an interest is an understatement. Is the manual really worth those few thousands more? I'd imagine so, but im asking anyway as a first time Supra buyer.

Cheers!

Edited by Crossy (see edit history)

• Replies 99
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Its a very personal thing really. The Supra isn't a sports car, its a GT car, a cruiser and an auto really suits it, if you get a VVTI car you get tiptronic buttons but with basically 3 gears its kind of pointless.

Sure people will spout phrases like 'driver involvement' but Ive driven both and bought the auto. And in all honesty, the manual boxes aren't that nice to use...

I agree with Swampy, the getrag is a great gearbox but I don't like it for a dayli use, could quickly be hard to use when putting an aftermarket clutch...

That's the reason I'm looking for an alternative to it ^^