The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Electronic Shifter and Flappy Paddles on the TT Autobox

Burna

Just thought I'd share with you what I've been working on for the last 10 months on and off.

It all started when I wanted to add flappy paddle gear control to my TT auto, and I discovered there currently wasn't an easy way, only option was to fit a syvecs and pay for the mapping etc... which works out at over £3500! :blink:

So being a design & development engineer, I went about solving the problem myself. I wanted a more modern looking electronic shifter to replace the large 90's shifter in the cabin. I also wanted to make sure it was plug and play, without having to alter anything on the car, as I wanted to be able to return the car to stock whenever I wanted to in the future. The electronic shifter can be removed and the car returned to stock in 1-2 hrs :) The shifter casing is from a Range Rover Sport, as I liked the compact rotary design, but everything inside is my own design and electronics, from all the LED's to the computer that runs the custom software. Basically I bin the Land Rover PCB and start from scratch, so you can imagine the work and hours that go into building and wiring of one of these, plus all the programming time and learning curve it took :blink: