The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Front Crank and Cam seal change

xm 80

I'm at the point now of changing the front crank and cam seals on my Na . I have absolutely no history about the services which where done to the car, so IMO it should be a good thing to change these. engine has around 130k Km (not sure about that since it was at one time converted to miles?!?! ).

So I searched a bit around on how to (best) change the crank and cam seals.....but as I was reading more and more I also got more and more confused. some say you have to take off the cam caps to replace the cam seals, other don't do this...some use some sort of oil or lubricant to install them, others push them in dry.

to be honest I have never done this before and I'm a bit careful with things like this, so any advice would be appreciated!

as for the front crank seal, I read that it could be installed wrong/to far in.....has anyone a pic of a correct installed front crank seal as reference?

thanks in advance for your help guys

To be absolutely honest I would not bother until (if) they leak.

The front crank seal needs to be flush to the oil pump casing, not past this. The difficulty can be getting it in 'square'/'flat' as it's reasonably tight and you can get one side in and then the other can pop a bit out etc, some make tools to press it in absolutely square.

The cam seals I've heard (probably read the same threads you have) of someone doing them dry and then leaking and redoing them with gasket sealant.

I wouldn't touch the crank seal unless it was leaking

Cam cover seals i fitted dry on my TT and had no problems, also replace the washers as they have a seal on them, you don't touch

the cam caps

Be careful not to over tighten the bolts and seeing as you have an NA i'd fit a new set of sparkplugs at the same time