The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Kieran, Supra na auto, England 😊 (possible project thread)

Guest kcoles1

Guest kcoles1

Hi all, my names kieran and I'm new to the supra scene. Ive been meaning to start a thread for a while but I've been so busy at work and working on the supra, so I'll bring you up to date briefly and carry the thread on from there[emoji4] hope no body minds me just storing my process on here?

(Just to add, if anyone has any questions on the things I've done, more than happy to answer and help[emoji4])

Ok so, I've just bought myself a supra, After seeing it for the past 14 years, was owned by a guy who owns the local chip shop, he imported it[emoji106]

imageimage

It's an auto, 2jzge, Japan import, completely stock, well looked after, hardly driven!

I bought it in a ruff'ish state. Starting and running issues, paint on the roof is thin, needs a good clean inside, out and in the engine bay, desperately needs servicing and general maintenance, belts etc! Although is is very solid underneath, low mileage 88k, older guy owned it and didn't drive it hard, although he had no idea about cars so it's not been as looked after as it should of been[emoji849]

- Ok so I managed to sort out the not starting issue, also it used to die out at high revs, and a messed up idle! I replaced the dizzy cap, and rotor arm, still nothing. So I got a brand new coil, and tried a mates leads and igniter, still nothing! I then used the diagnostic box to read the codes via the engine management light, I also found out that the light didn't work properly cus of a loose connection[emoji23] (one thing after another so far!) Anyway, found out it was the Ecu as the capacitors leak in the board due to age and does funny shit to the car, tried a mates manual NA Ecu and it started (but obviously wouldn't drive) swapped out the Ecu, and boom, runs a dream.

Then I done a full service, plugs were over due[emoji15]

image,