The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Supra demand

nicky

I'm new to the scene currently trying to get ahold of a supra, only after a single turbo 6 speed or even if I buy an auto I will convert to manual, but why are none popping up? Just trying to figure out people's mentalitys on why they want to keep their Supra's?

Even trying to convince people to sell theirs are proving impossible unless for a rediculois price tag out of my budget.

Just looking for opinions?

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm sure people want to keep hold of their Supra's for the same reason you want to buy one.

The days are gone where these cars offered massive BHP for very little financial outlay. The chavs that could afford and used to buy most of the poor examples, ran them into the ground, wrote them off or they were broken for spares. Supply started to dry up, local prices started increasing, Japan got wise and started upping their prices. The pound fell in value and importing became even more expensive.

Decent examples (I mean ones that are properly maintained with parts being replaced because of age rather than failure) are very hard to come by. These cars now command a premium and members now know that if they sell it's going to be harder to find another without spending a lot more money.

I guess most owners are now true enthusiasts and collectors.

That is my take on it anyway :)

I'm sure people want to keep hold of their Supra's for the same reason you want to buy one.

The days are gone where these cars offered massive BHP for very little financial outlay. The chavs that could afford and used to buy most of the poor examples, ran them into the ground, wrote them off or they were broken for spares. Supply started to dry up, local prices started increasing, Japan got wise and started upping their prices. The pound fell in value and importing became even more expensive.