The mkiv Supra Owners Club

New to The Supra Game

Guest JBead

Guest JBead

Hello All!

As you'll rapidly discover from the below I'm new to the Supra game (although certainly not new to JDM vehicles overall). Always loved the car (who hasn't?!) and finally am looking to get one.

I have questions AND before you all start doing the following :banghead::banghead: I'm sure these questions have been asked before, however I'm more looking for people's opinions rather than facts so please humour me. :innocent:

I'm looking to buy on a predominantly investment based approach (it will not be my daily driven car), although I will definitely drive and enjoy the car. I'm fully aware the TT 6-speeds are the best choice for this - and I've made approaches on a few I've found available.

However my main question is how do you guys (the Pro's so to speak) feel about automatics, 1JZ motors and boosting NA motors?

Or alternatively, buying a 2jz-gte engine and putting it into a separately bought car?

I'd love to hear any and everyone's opinions on above - how they hold value, ease to upgrade parts and fun to drive generally?

I appreciate the comments and thank you in advance!

James

Edited by JBead (see edit history)

Welcome :)

To start with, a Supra isn't a very good investment. You will spend more on insurance, tax, servicing, restoration / tuning than the car will appreciate. But, if you want a nice car, that's different, quick exciting, and reliable, where the increases in value will offset the above costs, then it's a pretty good buy :)

Certainly if you are wanting something that will retain the most value, don't buy one with a different engine, bodykits etc.