The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Supra budget for an import

Guest Chris_jellyman

Guest Chris_jellyman

Hi guys, I'm currently looking for a tt6 supra imported, as there doesn't seem to be many for sale here at the moment. My budget is around £12k with a little wiggle room if I have to, I contacted an importer and they recommended at least £16k for one, is my budget unrealistic? I know supras have been increasing in value but £16k for a stock twin seems a bit high to me

Guest Chris_jellyman

I've seen a few autos and triptronics but I don't really want vvti. I haven't driven an auto but a lot of people have said they are awesome, I'll go test drive one and go from there. It's a shame I don't have enough but I need to buy in febuary due to no claims bonus, I have been using a car that isn't mine for almost two years now and I've read that no claims runs out after two years of no personal policy :/

Why wouldn't you want vvti? :conf: it's superior to non vvti, with no draw backs.

I have a vvti tiptronic, that's been converted to.use AMG paddleshifters and it's a great setup. It's currently away having a single turbo conversion done, but you're welcome to come and look at it when I get it back. I'm also in Yorkshire :)

Guest Chris_jellyman

I'd be interested in on with paddle shift, I saw one for sale on here in black with veilside skirts that looked well, even if the mileage seemed too low to be real, and after reading the sale thread it has had some missing mots and other things. Is the paddle shift conversion straight forward?

The wiring is easy as it uses mostly the stock tiptronic wiring. It's getting the paddles in exactly the right place that's the tricky part. The costs involved are a non tiptronic 3 spoke steering wheel, and the paddles. It can usually be done for £200-£300, depending on which paddles you choose.

The change in the way the car drives is fantastic.

Guest Chris_jellyman