The mkiv Supra Owners Club

BOV recomendations

ripped_fear

So the new car currently doesn't have a bov, and as far as I'm aware this is putting extra strain on the turbos is it not?

Now the car sounds epic on boost and I love the noise when you let off, so looking to retain as much of this as I can. Now what BOV would be a good choice to use without adding in some good awful loud PPPPSSSSHHHH noise every time I let of the throttle. The noise currently is great and dont want to sound like some chav from the 90's.

Any help on some supra specific kits available because as you all know I'm new to the world of turbos coming from an NA?

Thanks in Advance

Hi mate, i currently have no BOV and I run a HKS intake and FMIC, it sounds great but as you mention is it safe? that is a big debate. I have a manifold intake with a HKSSSQ welded into it waiting to go on, but that is probably more the PSSSHHH sound that you dont like.. TBH i liked how it sounded with the HKS and the stock BOV in it, ill try seeing if I got a video.

personally i just wouldnt run one, i dont really see the need?

mine has the recirc valve blocked and no bov runs sweet as a nut

The only thing to note when doing this is it will pressurise the system when you let off. My old intercooler blew at the welds and I'm pretty sure it was down to blocking off the recirc. I just run the stock BOV now.

Interested in this as well as my Greddy one is going in the bin. Think it's a fake as it's leaking a hell of a lot. Don't like the sound of the SSQV tbh and Im currently running without one. I convinced myself I don't need one but if a good sounding one came along and I could get it on the flange I have on the IC pipe work I'd consider it.

My Greddy one sounded great btw, more a psshhht than a whistle

I went with the ARC BOV with hardpipe, nice quality and the hardpipe is designed to fit with the stock airbox. 6 years on and never had a problem with it.