The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Coilovers - decisions

Guest Ali95

Hi guys, i'm a newbie and finanly found time to join this club.

I'm in a dilemma and hope i can get your advice.

I have a Supra N/A 1995 that has gone through the MOT and

failed on few things. I need to replace my front two coil springs

(my car has lowering springs at the moment) and thought i might

aswell get coilover put in instead all around. I am on a budget and was

thinking of getting this the TEIN STREET BASIS

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TOYOTA-SUPRA-TWIN-TURBO-JZA80-TEIN-STREET-BASIS-COILOVER-SUSPENSION-KIT-/311423155006?fits=Car+Make%3AToyota%7CModel%3ASupra&hash=item4882443b3e

then i saw the TEIN STREET ADVANCE

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TEIN-Street-Advance-Coilover-Kit-Toyota-Supra-JZA80-1993-1998-/301195820471?hash=item4620ab7db7

Is there really a big difference between them? i know preferably Advance

will be better but with the MOT repairs i am trying to keep my costs low.

Or are there other brands i should consider instead around that price,

Thank you in advance, Ali

90% of people do not need coilovers on UK roads unless you're tracking the car. I'd seriously speak with Chris Wilson on here about a set of revalved OEM Bilsteins, which will give you a great ride and handle the UK roads. They're very, very good.

Personally, I'd not touch BC or Tein. They leak, they're too stiff and the ride is crashy.

You can't revalve the OE Bilsteins, they are quite different inside to genuine ones. They used a more basic valving. You can revalve and fiddle with proper German built ones though. £120 plus VAT each, custom valving £70 plus VAT each if ordered when you order the dampers. Internally Konis and Bilsteins are FAR FAR better and more sophisticated than BC, Tein, HKS, Apexi and many other aftermarket stuff.