The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Auto or manual what to do?

Guest Urky_89

Guest Urky_89

Hi guys, after much thought (and permission from the other half ) I have decided this will be the year I get a supra. Had my heart set on a manual but realistically it would stretch my budget to much so I'm thinking auto. Has anyone else been in this situation and has the auto been better than u thought it would be and kept you happy? I'm sure I would be over the moon with an auto all supras are beasts lol just wondered if anyone on here has been there and done it?

Auto twinturbo is top notch imo (i have no experience of the na Auto), they are haters of the auto and always will be but my honest assessment over the last 5yrs is that its couldnt be better, how anyone with a 6speed has more fun than i do in my auto i dont know. Thing is if you buy an auto and dont like it as much as you would like do a transmission conversion its not a massive job to do

Glws for a Supra and welcome to the club

Guest Urky_89

cheers man, yeh it would be a TT. Been looking at more info n stuff this evening and think an auto is the way to go. Just want it on my driveway now haha looking forward to joing the supra crew:)

I am in the same boat, part of me feels it would only be proper to go for a manual but I would have to sell both kidneys to afford one. :)

From what I gather the auto gearbox is pretty good, not like the scrap in I have driven.

Good luck anyway mate and welcome

People always do this, get caught up in the stigma against autos. A lot of people, once they drive an auto, really like it. Id definitely say drive an auto, the whole 'not involved in the driving experience' it utter rubbish ;)

Plus, the 6 speed box is a shocker, first time I drove one I thought it was broken, apparently thats how they all are lol

Guest Urky_89