The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Benefits of higher lift cams?

JackyBoi

I'm looking into buying some 264 camshafts for my VVTi Supra but am curious into what the actual benefits are, and as I'm no mechanic I thought why not ask you guys:

Does having higher lift cams installed increase horsepower/torque, and if so how much?

Can they be detrimental to any engine/turbo components?

Anything else worth upgrading when fitting higher lift cams?

Thanks guys :thumbs:

In laymens terms they basically hold the valves open for longer. This means that more air can get into the chamber during a stroke and more gas can get out of the chamber during a stroke. Various combinations are used for various applications. If you check your dyno graph and notice a drop off in power then this would suggest that either your turbo is gassed or you could do with cams.

There are pro's and cons. Adding longer duration cams will shift the power up the rev range a little. It allows for more power, but at a slight cost of low end power/spool. Fancy mapping can help iron this out though.

If you are using stock cams, I would expect that at least 256 cams would make a difference. Being VVTi I'm not sure how just changing the exhaust cam works out.

In laymens terms they basically hold the valves open for longer. This means that more air can get into the chamber during a stroke and more gas can get out of the chamber during a stroke. Various combinations are used for various applications. If you check your dyno graph and notice a drop off in power then this would suggest that either your turbo is gassed or you could do with cams.

There are pro's and cons. Adding longer duration cams will shift the power up the rev range a little. It allows for more power, but at a slight cost of low end power/spool. Fancy mapping can help iron this out though.