The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Some electrical advice please...

Kilps

The roof of the garage I rent might as well not be there. It leaks like a seive and the car is probably better off outside. This summer I will sort it out.

As well as sorting the roof I want improve ventilation in the garage, in an attempt to reduce condensation. I can't cut holes in the walls or doors as it's rented.

My plan is to fit a fan or two to the wall(s) inside, to get the air moving at least, which will hopefully encourage fresh air in through the gaps around the door etc.

The next issue is that there's no power anywhere near the garage as it's in a block.

My plan at the moment is to use a 12V fan run off a solar panel, with a battery in the circuit to keep the fan going when sunlight is lacking. The solar panel needs enough oomph to charge the battery back up when the sunlight comes back, whilst keeping the fan going.

Is this a sensible solution? I have very little electronics experience. What do I need to know about the fan, battery and solar panel to ensure this will work properly? Is there a better idea than a solar panel? I've considered a small wind generator outside (as well as or instead of the solar panel) but this'll be more obvious than a solar panel sat flat on the roof. I don't know if this is overkill or if I've got no chance of getting enough power out of these things.

The battery might be overcomplicating things. I would have thought a fan draught during daylight hours would suffice, therefore not needing a bettery?

Go for the highest power output solar panel you can. I've read on here that anything else is a false economy/won't work.